Expat Health Insurance in Cyprus 2026: GeSY Eligibility, Pink Slip Plan A Rules and Private Cover

Pink slip: Plan A certificateGeSY pensioners: 2.65% of pensionCategory F: GeSY eligibleCover from €40/month
Quick answer Health insurance in Cyprus for expats in 2026 depends on your permit. Pink slip and digital nomad permit holders need a private “Plan A” certificate covering inpatient and outpatient care and transport of remains; their permits are not among the enrolment groups of GeSY, the public system. Workers, permanent residents (including Category F) and S1 holders can join GeSY; pensioners contribute 2.65% of their pension. Private or international cover adds private hospitals and care abroad.

GeSY or private cover: which applies to you in Cyprus?

Pick your nationality, residence permit and work status. The tool reads the Health Insurance Organisation’s enrolment categories, applies the GeSY contribution rate for your status to the income you enter, and shows the lowest Care Expat World price for your age band.

GeSY eligibility–
GeSY contribution, per year (estimate)–
Care Expat World, from per month–
–

Eligibility follows the Health Insurance Organisation’s guide for non-Cypriot nationals; the HIO decides each case and can ask for proof of ordinary residence. Contribution rates are those in force since March 2020 (2.65% for pensioners, employees and rent, interest or dividend income; 4% for self-employed income), on income up to 180,000 euros, as set out in the Tax Department guidance and 2026 tax guides; the estimate assumes you are tax resident in Cyprus. The default income of 24,000 euros is only an example equal to the single-person pink slip income test. Plan prices come from our Care Expat World registry, Zone 1, lowest level for your band, before any surcharge.

Key facts: health insurance in Cyprus for foreigners (2026)

Topic2026 fact
Public systemGeneral Healthcare System (GHS), Greek acronym GeSY, run by the Health Insurance Organisation (HIO)
Who can joinLegal workers, permanent residents (incl. immigration permit and long-term residence permit holders), S1 holders, spouses and dependent children of beneficiaries
Not in the HIO categoriesVisitor permit (pink slip) and digital nomad permit holders
Contribution ratesPensioners and employees 2.65%; self-employed 4%; rent, interest and dividends 2.65%; income cap €180,000
Pink slip insurance“Plan A”: inpatient and outpatient care and transportation of corpse; no insurer or minimum sum named
Digital nomad insuranceSame Plan A wording; income at least €3,500 a month net
UK State PensionersS1 registered with GeSY; Cypriot medical card with reduced co-payments
Co-payments (GOV.UK, 2021)€6 specialist with referral, €25 without, €10 A&E, €1 per prescribed item
AmericansMedicare generally does not pay in Cyprus
Care Expat WorldCyprus is in Zone 1; cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64

Sources: Health Insurance Organisation enrolment guide, Migration Department document lists, Cyprus Tax Department, GOV.UK. Full list at the end of the page.

What health cover options do expats have in Cyprus?

Expats in Cyprus use one of four kinds of cover, and the residence permit you hold decides which one is open to you: GeSY public cover, an S1 that brings GeSY cover funded by your pension country, a policy from a local insurer, or an international long-term plan. Travel insurance covers the trip in, not the years that follow.

The dividing line is the permit. A retiree who arrives from outside the EU starts on the visitor temporary residence permit, known as the pink slip, and the Health Insurance Organisation does not list that permit among its enrolment groups. That retiree therefore needs private cover from the first application. After several years the same person may move to Category F permanent residence, which does give access to GeSY. Workers and their families, EU citizens with work or permanent residence, and S1 holders join GeSY from the start.

OptionWho uses itCounts for a visitor or nomad permit?Main limits
GeSY as a contributorWorkers, permanent residents, family of beneficiariesNot available on those permitsPersonal doctor and referrals; co-payments
GeSY through an S1Pensioners and posted workers insured in an EU country or the UKNot stated whether an S1 meets the Plan A linePublic care only; S1 cancelled when you leave
Local private policyPink slip and nomad permit holders, people wanting private careYes, if it meets the Plan A wordingUsually cover in Cyprus only; check the terms
International long-term planResidents who travel or want one policy across countriesOnly if the Migration Department accepts it; no guaranteeStarts on the 1st after you cross the border; premiums rise with age
Travel insuranceShort stays and the trip inNot designed for itFixed end date; not for residents

Our expat health insurance guide explains how long-term international plans work in general. The visa routes themselves, with income tests and fees, are on our Cyprus retirement visa guide; this page stays with the insurance question.

Who can join GeSY as a foreign resident?

A foreign resident can join GeSY if they legally work in Cyprus, hold permanent residence, hold an S1, or are the spouse or dependent child of a beneficiary, and in each case they must live in the government-controlled areas. These four groups come from the Health Insurance Organisation’s own step-by-step enrolment guide for non-Cypriot nationals, which the German Embassy in Nicosia republishes as a PDF; the HIO website itself would not load for us.

HIO categoryExamples the HIO givesWhat it means for expats
1. Working in CyprusEU citizens working with an MEU1 certificate; third-country nationals such as domestic workersRegister with Social Insurance first; contributions come from your pay
2. Permanent residenceEU and third-country nationals with MEU3; third-country nationals with an immigration permit or long-term residence permitCategory F and Regulation 6(2) holders are immigration permit holders
3. S1 holdersEU pensioners and posted workers with an S1; third-country nationals who are pensioners with an S1UK State Pensioners register their UK-issued S1
4. Family membersSpouses, minors and dependent children under 26 of a beneficiaryOnly if they fit no other category; papers sent by post

The guide sets out the same four steps for every group. You need an Alien Registration Certificate and a valid residence permit from the Migration Department; workers also need their Social Insurance record updated with the ARC number. You then open an account on the GeSY Beneficiary Portal and submit an enrolment request, and finally you register on a personal doctor’s list. The guide is blunt that without that last step you receive no GeSY services. If you have no internet access, a GeSY doctor or a friend with a portal account can submit the request for you. The HIO may ask for proof of ordinary residence, such as recent electricity or water bills, in any category.

Two permits are missing from the list: the visitor permit (pink slip) and the digital nomad permit. The guide adds that other groups may qualify under national and EU law, but it names none, so treat those permits as outside GeSY unless the HIO confirms otherwise in writing. The guide also settles a question that our visa guide left open: an immigration permit, which is what Category F grants, sits in the permanent residence group. For how Cyprus compares with other public systems, see healthcare systems by country.

How much are GeSY contributions in 2026?

GeSY contributions are 2.65% of a pension, a salary or rent, interest and dividend income, and 4% of self-employed income, charged on income up to €180,000 a year. These rates have applied since 1 March 2020. The Tax Department’s GHS guidance of 2023 lists them (we could read it only through a search summary, because the file redirects to a blocked page), and the PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries for Cyprus, last reviewed in August 2026, give the same rates and cap.

Who paysRateOn what
Pensioner2.65%The pension, including a pension from abroad
Employee2.65%Own salary (the employer adds 2.90%)
Self-employed4.00%Own income
Rent, interest, dividends and other income2.65%That income
Office holder (for example a company director)2.65%The remuneration
Upper limit–Income above €180,000 a year adds nothing

The Tax Department’s page on pensions, which covers old-age, widow’s and foreign pensions, says pensions are taxable income and subject to both income tax and GeSY. According to the 2023 guidance (again only as summarised in search results), contributions on a pension from the Cyprus Social Insurance Services are deducted at source, while on a pension from abroad you pay them yourself to the Tax Department. For a retiree, the arithmetic is simple:

Yearly pensionGeSY at 2.65% per year (our calculation)Per month
€18,000€477€39.75
€24,000€636€53
€30,000€795€66.25
€40,000€1,060€88.33

Self-employed residents pay more: €1,200 a year on €30,000 of income and €1,600 on €40,000. An employee on €40,000 pays €1,060, and the employer adds €1,160.

Two points need care. First, the 2023 guidance, as summarised in search results, exempts people insured in another EEA country or Switzerland who hold an S1 or A1, with a certificate from the Ministry of Health; whether a UK-issued S1 counts after Brexit is not stated, so ask. Second, paying contributions and being allowed into GeSY are decided by different bodies. The Tax Department assesses pensions of tax residents; the HIO decides who is a beneficiary. We found no official text that ties the two together, so a pink slip holder who becomes tax resident should ask both offices rather than assume that contributions buy access, or that no access means no contributions. Pension tax itself, including the 5% option, is covered on retire in Cyprus.

What do GeSY patients pay at the doctor and hospital?

GeSY patients pay small fixed co-payments for most services: GOV.UK gives €6 for a specialist seen with a GP referral, €25 without one, €10 for A&E and €1 per prescribed medicine or product. GP visits are free up to a number of visits that depends on your age, then cost up to €15 each. GOV.UK last updated these figures in 2021, so check the current list on the GeSY portal.

ServiceCo-payment (GOV.UK, 2021)Note
Prescribed medicine or medical product€1 per itemLower or nil with a medical card
Specialist with a GP referral€6Referral from your personal doctor
Specialist without a referral€25Self-referral costs more
Accident and emergency€10Per visit
GP after your free visitsUp to €15Free visits depend on age; ask your GP

Some services need a referral from your doctor or a specialist. A medical card, which GOV.UK says is available on low income, with certain benefits or with a registered S1, lowers the co-payments or removes them. Registered workers and permanent residents may also receive a Cypriot EHIC for travel, including visits to the UK. Secondary 2026 guides (INDEX.cy, August 2026) report that many private hospitals are contracted to GeSY, so a beneficiary can be treated there under the public rules; check whether a hospital is contracted before you go.

What insurance does the Cyprus pink slip need?

The pink slip needs a “Certificate of Health Insurance for medical care that covers inpatient and outpatient care and transportation of corpse (Plan A)”, according to the Migration Department’s supporting-documents list for visitors of December 2025. You show it at the first application and again at every renewal, because the first permit lasts one year.

Read the wording closely. It names three things the cover must include: hospital (inpatient) care, outpatient care, and transport of the body home if you die in Cyprus. It names no minimum sum, no deductible rule and no list of insurers. It also does not say the policy must come from an insurer licensed in Cyprus; the list we read is silent on that point. Whether a given certificate meets the line is decided by the Migration Department when it checks your file, so if you plan to show a foreign or international policy, send the full wording in advance and ask.

PermitInsurance wording (official list)GeSY?
Visitor permit (pink slip)Plan A: inpatient, outpatient, transportation of corpseNot in the HIO categories
Digital nomad permitSame Plan A wording, first permit and renewalNot in the HIO categories
Category F immigration permitNot on the official document list (December 2025); some law firms still list itYes, as an immigration permit holder
Regulation 6(2) immigration permitInpatient and outpatient cover for you and dependantsYes; certificate later only if you no longer benefit from GeSY
UK State Pensioner with an S1Whether an S1 meets the Plan A line is not statedYes, through the S1

The rest of the pink slip file is about money and records: income of at least €2,000 a month or €24,000 a year for one person, paid into a Cyprus bank account from abroad (20% more for a spouse and 15% more per child), a ten-year bank guarantee for repatriation costs, medical tests stamped by a Cyprus specialist, and fees of €70 for the permit and €70 for first registration. All of that is set out on the Cyprus retirement visa page. Insurance rules for other countries sit side by side on visa health insurance requirements by country.

What health insurance does the Cyprus digital nomad visa need?

The Cyprus digital nomad permit needs the same Plan A certificate as the pink slip, covering inpatient and outpatient care and transportation of corpse, at the first application and at each renewal. That is the wording of the Migration Department’s list of accompanying documents for digital nomads, version of 19 March 2025. Some private guides mention a fixed cover sum for nomads, but the official list names none.

The scheme is for non-EU and non-EEA nationals who work remotely for an employer registered abroad or for clients abroad. You need at least €3,500 a month after tax and contributions, with 20% more for a spouse or partner and 15% more per child, shown by six months of bank statements. The first permit runs for one year and a renewal for up to two; applications go to the Migration Department in Nicosia within three months of arrival, and the department says the cap remains at 500 permits. Family members may live with you but may not work.

Whether a nomad can join GeSY is not answered by the HIO guide, which does not list the permit and does not say whether remote work for a foreign employer counts as working in Cyprus. Nomads who stay more than 183 days in a tax year become tax resident, according to the department, which raises the contribution question discussed above. Plan on private cover for the whole stay. Our digital nomad health insurance guide compares travel-style and long-term policies, and digital nomad visas by country sets Cyprus beside other schemes.

How do British expats get healthcare in Cyprus after Brexit?

British expats get GeSY cover by working in Cyprus, by holding permanent residence, or by registering a UK S1 once they draw the UK State Pension; Britons who arrived in 2021 or later on a pink slip and are not yet pensioners need private insurance. GOV.UK lists these routes and adds the GHIC or EHIC for study and posted work.

Your situationPublic coverWhat you arrange
Arrived 2021 or later, pink slip, below State Pension ageNone through GeSYPlan A policy for the permit and for treatment
Drawing the UK State Pension, resident in CyprusGeSY through a UK S1, with a medical cardRequest the S1 from NHS Overseas Healthcare Services; register it with GeSY
Withdrawal Agreement resident with a permanent card (MUKW3)GeSY as a permanent resident (our reading of the HIO guide)Enrol on the portal and register with a doctor
Withdrawal Agreement resident with a 5-year card (MUKW1), workingGeSY as a workerSocial Insurance registration with your ARC number
Withdrawal Agreement resident with a 5-year card, not working, no S1Not named in the HIO guideAsk the HIO; keep private cover meanwhile

The UK State Pension age rises from 66 to 67 between 2026 and 2028, and until you reach it the S1 route is closed unless you receive another exportable benefit. A Briton who retires to Cyprus at 60 on a pink slip therefore needs private cover for six years or more. Once the pension starts, you request the S1 by phone from NHS Overseas Healthcare Services and register it with GeSY; you are then treated like an insured Cypriot. Our S1 form guide covers eligibility, and health insurance for the S1 gap looks at the years before the pension.

Two more British points. If you hold an S1 as a dependant of a State Pensioner, GOV.UK says that S1 is cancelled when you claim your own State Pension, and you must register the new one. And free NHS treatment on visits to the UK is not guaranteed once you live abroad; UK nationals living in the EU on or before 31 December 2020 with a registered UK S1 are among the exemptions. See health insurance for UK expats for the NHS side.

Health insurance in Cyprus for Americans

Americans retiring to Cyprus start on a pink slip and therefore need a private Plan A policy, because the visitor permit gives no GeSY access and Medicare generally does not pay for care outside the United States. The US State Department’s country page, as shown in search summaries, says US citizens need no tourist visa for stays under 90 days, so the usual sequence is to arrive, open a Cyprus bank account, and apply for the permit with the insurance certificate in hand.

The picture changes if you later obtain Category F permanent residence. As an immigration permit holder you fit the HIO’s permanent residence group, so you can enrol in GeSY and pay the 2.65% contribution on your pension. Decide about Medicare Part B before you move, because dropping it can mean late-enrolment penalties if you return; health insurance for Americans living abroad explains the trade-off.

One rule applies to Americans on any international plan sold on this site: Care Expat World never covers you in the USA, because the USA is your home country, and the short emergency cover outside Zone 1 does not apply there either. Budget separately for trips to the United States.

How do EU citizens get covered in Cyprus?

EU citizens who work in Cyprus, who hold permanent residence or who bring an S1 from their pension country join GeSY; an EU citizen who lives on savings with only a registration certificate is not named in the HIO categories. The HIO examples are explicit: workers with an MEU1 certificate, permanent residents with MEU3, and EU pensioners with an S1.

For an EU pensioner, the S1 is the main route: the pension country issues it and funds your GeSY cover. An early retiree from Germany or the Netherlands without an S1 and without work faces the same gap as a non-EU retiree until they gain permanent residence, so private or home-country cover fills the years in between. The rules for each EU country of origin are on health insurance for EU citizens abroad. One advantage EU citizens have over Britons and Americans: an international plan with home-country cover can pay for treatment during visits home, which is explained below.

How does private health insurance work in Cyprus?

Private health insurance in Cyprus comes either from a local insurer, usually as a Cyprus-only policy built around the Plan A permit wording, or from an international insurer offering long-term cover across several countries; each contract sets its own prices, age rules and exclusions. We found no official or reliable published price ranges for private hospital treatment or for local Plan A policies, so we print none here.

Without published prices, the practical approach is to ask for a written estimate before planned treatment at a private hospital, and to check whether that hospital is contracted to GeSY if you are a beneficiary. When you compare policies, ask five questions in writing. Where does it pay: Cyprus only, Europe, or worldwide? Is there an entry age, and an age at which the insurer stops renewing? Is it a one-year contract the insurer can decline to renew? How are pre-existing conditions handled? And does the certificate state inpatient care, outpatient care and repatriation of remains, so that it fits the permit line? Expat health insurance for retirees walks through these trade-offs for people in their fifties and sixties, and pre-existing conditions explains how health questions work.

Is North Cyprus covered by GeSY?

No: North Cyprus is a separate situation, because GeSY serves legal residents of the areas controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus, and the Republic does not recognise residence permits issued in the north (GOV.UK travel advice, August 2026).

Where does Care Expat World fit in Cyprus?

Care Expat World is a long-term international plan that pays for private treatment in Cyprus and across Zone 1, which is the whole world except the USA, China and Singapore. We make no claim that it meets the pink slip or digital nomad Plan A line: that line asks for transport of remains, which our summary of the plan’s benefits does not list (it lists medically advised transport home), and the insurer states that it cannot guarantee the contract satisfies any local compulsory insurance rule. The permit list does not demand a Cypriot insurer, so the question is open, and only the Migration Department can answer it for your file.

Where the plan fits without that question: GeSY members who want a private layer, such as Category F or Regulation 6(2) residents, S1 holders and workers who want private hospitals, treatment while travelling within Zone 1, or, in Comfort and Premium, dental care and glasses. If you choose it alongside a separate Plan A policy for the permit, you pay for two policies, so compare that against a single local policy.

FeatureGeSYLocal Plan A policyCare Expat World (Zone 1)
Who can have itWorkers, permanent residents, S1 holders, familyAnyone the insurer acceptsAnyone abroad who starts cover by 1 December of the year they turn 64
Cost2.65% of a pension; 4% self-employedSet by each insurerFrom €2,400 a year at 55–59
Counts for the pink slip?Not available on that permitIf it matches the Plan A wordingNo claim made; the Migration Department decides
Where it paysCyprus (government-controlled areas)Check the termsAll countries except the USA, China and Singapore; in those three only emergencies on trips of up to 42 days, and never in your home country
Doctor choicePersonal doctor and referralsPer contractFree choice of doctor, no network tie
Health questionsNonePer insurerVideo interview; surcharge, exclusion or refusal possible
Home-country visits––Only for EU or Schengen home countries; not the UK or the USA
BillingCo-payment at the point of carePer contractNo direct-billing promise; pay and claim

Three plan rules matter for a move to Cyprus. Cover starts on the 1st of a month, can be booked at most four months ahead and never before you cross the border. Prior health insurance that ended no more than 12 months before the start is a condition, with a 31-day waiting period after a gap; whether the NHS, Medicare or a travel policy counts as that prior insurance, the documents don’t confirm this, so ask Care Concept in writing. And the plan excludes medical examinations needed for a residence permit, so the permit blood tests and chest X-ray are your own cost. Every term is on the plan details page, and home-country rules on international health insurance with home-country cover.

Price calculator: your monthly premium and worst-case year

Monthly premium–
Premiums per year–
Worst case per year (premiums + full deductible)–

Zone 1 (worldwide except the USA, China and Singapore). Age = calendar year minus year of birth. Pre-existing conditions can add a surcharge after the health interview.

Cost comparison: GeSY contributions vs private cover in Cyprus

A retiree with a €24,000 pension pays €636 a year in GeSY contributions, while Care Expat World in Zone 1 starts at €200 a month at 55–59 and €325 at 60–64. The two are not interchangeable: GeSY is public care in Cyprus with co-payments, the plan pays private care across Zone 1, and on a pink slip only private cover is open to you.

OptionCostWhat you still paySource
GeSY, pensioner, €24,000 pension€636 a yearCo-paymentsTax Department rate; our calculation
GeSY, pensioner, €30,000 pension€795 a yearCo-paymentsSame
GeSY, self-employed, €40,000 income€1,600 a yearCo-paymentsSame
GeSY through a UK S1Funded by the UKReduced co-payments with a medical cardGOV.UK
Local Plan A policyNo verified pricePer contract–
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 50–54€140 a monthUp to €3,600 a year, then covered costsZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 55–59€200 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 60–64€325 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 55–59€505 a monthUp to €1,200 a year; dental and check-ups includedZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 60–64€655 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Premium, no deductible, 60–64€800 a monthNo deductibleZone 1 registry

Over a full year at 60–64, Basic with the €3,600 deductible costs €3,900 in premiums, rising to €7,500 in a year when you use the whole deductible; Comfort with €1,200 costs €7,860, or €9,060 with the deductible used. A Category F retiree with a €24,000 pension who keeps GeSY and adds Basic at 60–64 pays €4,536 a year for both. Premiums at every age are on what international health insurance costs.

Checklist: health cover for your move to Cyprus

Worked example: an American aged 58 and a Briton aged 61

Donna, 58, from Tucson, moves to Paphos with a pension of about €28,000 a year, above the €24,000 pink slip test. GeSY is closed to her as a visitor permit holder, so she needs a Plan A certificate for the application. She considers Care Expat World Comfort with the €1,200 deductible from the 1st of the month after she lands, €505 a month or €6,060 for the 12-month minimum term, but because we make no claim that the Migration Department accepts it, she first sends the policy wording and asks; if it does not fit, she needs a local Plan A policy for the permit. Once she is tax resident she asks the Tax Department whether GeSY contributions are due on her pension: at 2.65% that would be €742 a year. From 1 January of the year she turns 60 she pays the 60–64 rate. When she later obtains Category F, she can enrol in GeSY. Trips to Arizona stay outside the plan.

Neil, 61, from Leeds, moves to Larnaca in 2026, after Brexit, so he too starts on a pink slip. Born in 1965, he reaches UK State Pension age at 67, so no S1 is available yet. He looks at Care Expat World Basic with the €3,600 deductible, €325 a month (€3,900 a year), as cover for private treatment, and asks the Migration Department whether its certificate meets the Plan A line before he applies. When his State Pension starts, he requests an S1, registers it with GeSY and gets a medical card; he then decides whether to keep the plan as a private layer. Visits to the UK are not covered by the plan at any point.

What if you are 65 or older?

At 65 or older GeSY stays open to anyone who qualifies, because the HIO guide sets no age limit, but the private choice narrows. Care Expat World’s latest possible start is 1 December of the year you turn 64, and local insurers set their own entry and renewal ages. If you are close to the limit, the year you apply matters more than the month; see expat health insurance over 65 and age limits on international health insurance.

Health insurance in Cyprus vs other EU countries

Cyprus differs from several EU retirement destinations because its visitor permit keeps non-EU retirees out of the public system until permanent residence, while Italy lets elective residents pay to join and Portugal opens its health service to legal residents. All of the countries below are in Zone 1 of Care Expat World.

CountryInsurance or health guideVisa guideUK S1 usable?
CyprusThis pageCyprus retirement visaYes
ItalyItaly: SSN voluntary enrolment and private coverItaly retirement visaYes
PortugalPortugal: SNS, D7 and private plansPortugal D7 visa guideYes
FranceFrance: PUMa and private plansFrance long-stay visa guideYes
GreeceGreece: EOPYY, FIP and private coverGreece retirement visaYes

What does Care Expat World cost in Cyprus from age 50?

In Cyprus (Zone 1), with a €1,200 yearly deductible, a 50–54-year-old pays from €220 a month and a 60–64-year-old from €390. The price depends only on age band, level, deductible and zone, not on the country inside the zone.

Age bandBasicComfortPremium
50–54€220€335€400
55–59€265€505€545
60–64€390€655€700
65–69 *€530€955€1,170
70+ *€985€1,295€1,570

Monthly premiums, €1,200 deductible per calendar year, before any surcharge from the health interview; insurer's premium table, all prices in our price index. * New cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; the 65–69 and 70+ bands apply to people who are already insured. A new age band applies from 1 January of the year you reach it.

Long-term health insurance for expats in Cyprus

The plan featured on this site. We earn a referral commission if you take it out, at no extra cost to you (how we are paid); this is information, not personal advice. Lowest prices (Basic, €3,600 deductible): €200 at 55–59, €325 at 60–64; €40 for ages 0–24.

Care Expat World Basic (hospital and doctor cover)

Lowest price, for people who mainly want protection against large medical bills.

  • Age 55-59€200–€345
  • Age 60-64€325–€460

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Hospital in a single or double room, chief physician
  • Outpatient treatment, medicines, X-ray, CT, MRI
  • Cancer treatment up to €50,000
  • Transport home when medically advised
  • 24/7 emergency line
  • No dental and no pregnancy cover
Apply for Basic: €200–€460/month
Middle level

Care Expat World Comfort (with dental and check-ups)

Adds dental, check-ups, physiotherapy, psychotherapy and pregnancy cover to Basic.

  • Age 55-59€350–€600
  • Age 60-64€495–€750

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Basic
  • Dental treatment; dentures 60% up to €8,000 a year
  • Check-ups €600 every 2 years; vaccinations €250 a year
  • Physiotherapy, osteopathy, glasses; psychotherapy 15 sessions a year
  • Pregnancy and birth after 10 months
  • Cancer treatment up to €100,000
Apply for Comfort: €350–€750/month

Care Expat World Premium (with psychotherapy)

Highest refunds, including more psychotherapy and 80% for dentures.

  • Age 55-59€405–€655
  • Age 60-64€545–€800

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Comfort
  • Dentures 80% up to €10,000 a year
  • Psychotherapy: 25 sessions a year
  • Check-ups €1,200 every 2 years
  • Alternative medicine €1,500 a year
  • Rescue costs up to €15,000
Apply for Premium: €405–€800/month

Cyprus is in Zone 1, which covers every country except the USA, China and Singapore; in those three the plan pays only emergencies on trips of up to 42 days, and it never pays in your home country, so Americans have no cover in the USA. Home visits are covered only when your home country is in the EU or Schengen area, which excludes Britons in the UK. Nothing on this page claims that the Migration Department accepts the plan as a Plan A certificate. Already 65 or older in the year cover would start? This plan is closed to you; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit. Prices for every age are on the Care Expat World overview.

Plan your move to Cyprus

Frequently asked questions

Do expats need health insurance to live in Cyprus?

Non-EU residents on a visitor permit (pink slip) or a digital nomad permit must show a health insurance certificate covering inpatient and outpatient care and transport of remains, at the first application and every renewal. Residents who qualify for GeSY can use it instead, and GOV.UK says proof of healthcare cover is needed before you register as a resident.

Can foreigners use GeSY in Cyprus?

Yes, if they fit one of the Health Insurance Organisation’s categories: legally working in Cyprus, holding permanent residence (including an immigration permit or long-term residence permit), holding an S1, or being the spouse or dependent child of a beneficiary. In every case you must have your ordinary residence in the government-controlled areas.

Can I join GeSY on a Cyprus pink slip?

Not as a pink slip holder alone: the visitor permit is not among the categories the Health Insurance Organisation lists. The exceptions are an S1 (for example a UK State Pension) or being the spouse of a GeSY beneficiary. Without one of these you need private insurance for the permit and for treatment.

Does Category F permanent residence give access to GeSY?

Yes. The Health Insurance Organisation’s enrolment guide names third-country nationals with an immigration permit, which is what Category F is, under permanent residents. You still need an Alien Registration Certificate, ordinary residence in the government-controlled areas, and a registration with a GeSY personal doctor.

How much do pensioners pay for GeSY in Cyprus?

The GeSY contribution for pensioners is 2.65% of the pension, the rate in force since March 2020 according to the Tax Department guidance and 2026 tax guides. On a €24,000 pension that is €636 a year. The Tax Department counts foreign pensions too; its 2023 guidance, which we could read only through a search summary, says you pay the contributions on them yourself.

What is the GeSY contribution for self-employed people in Cyprus?

Self-employed people pay 4% of their own income, up to an income cap of €180,000 a year. On €40,000 that is €1,600 a year; the most anyone pays at this rate is €7,200. Employees pay 2.65% of salary, and their employer adds 2.90%.

Do I pay GeSY contributions in Cyprus if I am not allowed to use GeSY?

Possibly. The Tax Department treats pensions, including foreign ones, as subject to GeSY contributions, while eligibility is decided by the Health Insurance Organisation, and we found no official text that links the two. Ask the Tax Department about your contributions and the HIO about your access before you budget.

What is Plan A health insurance for the Cyprus pink slip?

It is the name the Migration Department uses for the certificate it wants with a visitor or digital nomad permit: medical cover for inpatient and outpatient care and for transportation of the body (repatriation of remains). The list does not name a minimum sum or a list of insurers.

Does the Cyprus pink slip insurance have to come from a Cypriot insurer?

The official visitor-permit document list does not say so: it names the cover (inpatient, outpatient, transport of remains) but no insurer, licence or country. The Migration Department decides whether a certificate fits, so send it the policy wording if you plan to use a foreign or international policy.

What health insurance do I need for the Cyprus digital nomad visa?

The same Plan A wording as the visitor permit: a certificate for inpatient and outpatient care and transport of remains, at the first permit and at renewal. The Migration Department list of March 2025 sets no minimum sum. Income must be at least €3,500 a month after tax and contributions, plus 20% for a partner and 15% per child.

Can digital nomads in Cyprus join GeSY?

The Health Insurance Organisation’s main categories do not mention digital nomad permit holders, and we found no official statement on whether remote work for a foreign employer counts as working in Cyprus for GeSY. Plan on private cover and ask the HIO before you assume public care.

How do British expats get healthcare in Cyprus?

GOV.UK lists four routes: working in Cyprus, holding a Cypriot permanent residents’ medical card, registering a UK S1 if you draw the UK State Pension, or a GHIC or EHIC for study or posted work. Britons who arrived after 2020 on a pink slip and are below State Pension age usually need private insurance until one of those routes opens.

I am a British resident of Cyprus under the Withdrawal Agreement. Am I covered by GeSY?

If you hold the permanent card (MUKW3) you fit the Health Insurance Organisation’s permanent residence group, by our reading, and if you work you fit the worker group. A holder of the 5-year card who does not work and has no S1 is not named in the guide, so ask the HIO.

Do S1 holders pay GeSY contributions in Cyprus?

The Tax Department’s GHS guidance, as summarised in search results we could read, exempts people insured in another EEA country or Switzerland who hold an S1 or A1. Whether a UK-issued S1 counts for that exemption after Brexit is not stated, so ask the Tax Department before you assume it.

What health insurance do Americans need in Cyprus?

On a pink slip, a Plan A certificate covering inpatient and outpatient care and transport of remains, because GeSY is not open to visitor permit holders and Medicare generally pays nothing outside the United States. After Category F, Americans can enrol in GeSY as immigration permit holders and keep private cover as an extra layer.

Can EU citizens use GeSY after moving to Cyprus?

EU citizens who work in Cyprus (MEU1 certificate), who hold permanent residence (MEU3) or who bring an S1 from their pension country can enrol. An EU citizen who neither works nor has an S1 or permanent residence is not named in the Health Insurance Organisation’s main categories and should plan private or home-country cover.

How much does it cost to see a doctor in Cyprus under GeSY?

GOV.UK gives €6 for a specialist with a referral from your GP, €25 without one, €10 for A&E, €1 per prescribed item and up to €15 per GP visit once your free visits are used. Those figures date from 2021, so check the current amounts on the GeSY portal.

How much is private health insurance in Cyprus for expats?

Local insurers do not publish a common price list that we could verify. For long-term international cover, Care Expat World in Zone 1 starts at €200 a month at 55–59 and €325 a month at 60–64 (Basic, €3,600 deductible), before any surcharge from the health interview.

Is Care Expat World accepted for a Cyprus pink slip?

We make no claim that it is. The permit line asks for transport of remains, which our summary of the plan’s benefits does not list, and the insurer says it cannot guarantee that the contract meets any local insurance rule. Ask the Migration Department with the policy wording before you rely on it for a permit.

Does GeSY cover North Cyprus?

No. GeSY serves legal residents of the areas controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus, and the Republic does not recognise residence permits issued in the north, according to GOV.UK. Treatment in the north is a separate matter outside the Republic’s system.

Are British or American expats in Cyprus covered by Care Expat World on trips home?

No. The binding terms pay in the home country only when it is in the EU or the Schengen area, which leaves a Briton without cover in the UK and an American without cover in the USA. Germans, Dutch or other EU citizens living in Cyprus are covered at home for up to 180 days a year.

Can I get health insurance in Cyprus after 65?

Public cover through GeSY has no age limit in the guide we read, so Category F holders and S1 holders keep it at any age. If you reach 65 during the calendar year in which Care Expat World would begin, that plan is not open to you; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit.

Does Care Expat World need previous insurance for a move to Cyprus?

Yes. You must have had health insurance that lapsed at most 12 months before your start date, and any gap triggers a 31-day waiting period. Whether the NHS, Medicare or a travel policy counts as that prior insurance: the documents don’t confirm this; ask Care Concept in writing.

Should I keep private insurance in Cyprus once I am in GeSY?

It is a choice, not a rule. Reasons to keep one include cover outside Cyprus, private hospitals and fewer referrals, but the decision depends on your health, travel and budget. Care Expat World has a 12-month minimum term and no end date after that.

Where these facts come from

The HIO guide we used is undated and the HIO website would not load for us; the 2023 Tax Department guidance was readable only through a search summary. We found no official rule on whether paying GeSY contributions and eligibility are linked, whether a UK S1 exempts you from contributions, whether an S1 meets the Plan A line, or what private hospitals charge. Check with the HIO, the Tax Department and the Migration Department before you rely on a figure.

Why do expats in Cyprus look at Care Expat World next to GeSY?

What it gives you

  • A large German insurer behind it: the risk carrier is Barmenia Krankenversicherung AG, part of the BarmeniaGothaer group (premium income of about €9.27 billion expected for 2025, company announcement of 15 December 2025), supervised by Germany's financial regulator BaFin.
  • No annual maximum on total benefits, and no fixed end date or end age once you are in.
  • The insurer gives up its right to cancel in the normal way, so it cannot end your cover with ordinary notice, for example after large claims.
  • Free choice of doctor, with no network you must stay inside.
  • Pre-existing conditions are judged one by one in a video interview, with no blanket exclusion.
  • Check-ups, dental treatment and vaccinations are paid without touching your deductible (where your level covers them).
  • No fixed home address needed, and you can apply while already living abroad.
  • 14 days to change your mind after you sign.

What to know first

  • Cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64.
  • Minimum term 12 months; cover always starts on the 1st of a month.
  • The interview can lead to a surcharge, an exclusion or a refusal.
  • 10-month wait for pregnancy, dentures and orthodontics.
  • No home-country cover if your home country is outside the EU/Schengen area (for example the USA or the UK).
  • Not for people living in Germany, and no written confirmation yet that it meets any specific visa rule.

Private cover for Cyprus from the first of the month after you arrive

Long-term international cover with no end date once you are in, private hospitals in Cyprus and treatment across Zone 1. Start cover by 1 December of the year you turn 64.

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).