Expat Health Insurance in Malaysia 2026: MM2H and DE Rantau Rules, Hospital Costs and Private Cover for Foreigners

MM2H: Malaysian or foreign insurerInsurance at approval: aged 60 and belowSpecialist visit for foreigners: RM120Cover from €40/month
Quick answer Health insurance in Malaysia for expats in 2026 depends on your pass. Foreigners pay full non-citizen fees in government hospitals (RM120 for a specialist visit, RM320 a day in a first-class ward, plus treatment) and get no subsidy. MM2H applicants aged 60 and below must show a policy from a Malaysian or foreign insurer with worldwide coverage; DE Rantau nomads need a policy covering Malaysia for the whole pass. Private hospitals bill you or your insurer.

Do I need a Malaysian policy for my pass?

Only if a state programme requires it: national MM2H and the DE Rantau pass do not ask for a Malaysian insurer, while Sarawak is reported to. Pick your pass, enter the age you reach this calendar year and, for national MM2H, your tier. The tool shows the insurance rule as the official documents state it, whether a Malaysian insurer is required, and what role Care Expat World can play.

Insurance rule for your pass–
Malaysian insurer required?–
Care Expat World, per month–
–

Rules from the tourism ministry’s Guide Malaysia My Second Home (uploaded December 2025), MDEC’s DE Rantau FAQ version 10 (28 August 2026) and the Sarawak S-MM2H FAQ, read 28 October 2026. The default age of 58 is only an example. Premiums come from our Care Expat World registry (Zone 1, or Zone 2 when Singapore is ticked), lowest option for your age band, before any surcharge from the health interview. The tool never confirms acceptance: only your operator, OSC MM2H or MDEC can.

Key facts: health insurance in Malaysia for foreigners (2026)

Topic2026 fact
Public hospitalsOpen to foreigners at non-citizen rates under the Fees (Medical) (Cost of Services) Order 2014; no subsidy
Non-citizen outpatient feesRM40 general, RM120 specialist, RM100 emergency department (Malaysians: RM1 to RM5)
Non-citizen ward ratesRM160 (3rd class) to RM320 (1st class) a day, treatment extra; deposit RM1,400 to RM11,000
MM2H insurance at approvalApplicants aged 60 and below; any Malaysian or foreign insurer with worldwide coverage
MM2H insurance at renewalRequired after the maximum pass period, no age split stated
DE RantauHealth policy covering Malaysia, at least 3 months and for the whole pass
Sarawak S-MM2HState rules; local panel insurer reported by agents, not confirmed officially
Private hospital bills (typical, 2024 claims)Cataract RM8,400; gallbladder RM21,300; knee replacement RM33,400
UK and US coverNo UK reciprocal agreement; Medicare generally does not pay abroad
Care Expat WorldMalaysia is in Zone 1; Singapore needs Zone 2; start by 1 December of the year you turn 64

Sources: tourism ministry (MOTAC) and OSC MM2H, MDEC, Ministry of Health hospital pages, LIAM/MTA/PIAM price guide, Bank Negara Malaysia, GOV.UK, Medicare. Full list at the end of the page.

Can foreigners use government hospitals in Malaysia, and what do they pay?

Yes, foreigners can be treated in Ministry of Health hospitals and clinics, but they pay the full non-citizen rates set by the Fees (Medical) (Cost of Services) Order 2014, which are many times what Malaysians pay. The fee tables published by MOH hospitals such as Hospital Miri in Sarawak list the charges by service, ward class and deposit. In an October 2026 statement the ministry repeated that non-citizens are charged full fees and higher deposits, that it collects charges before discharge, and that life-saving emergency treatment is given to any patient.

Service in a MOH facilityNon-citizenMalaysian citizen
Hospital general outpatient visitRM40RM1
Hospital specialist outpatient visitRM120RM5
Emergency department visitRM100RM1
Health clinic visitRM40RM1
Ward, 1st class, per dayRM320 + treatmentRM120 + treatment
Ward, 2nd class, per dayRM180 + treatmentRM40 + treatment
Ward, 3rd class, per dayRM160 + treatmentRM3 + treatment
Deposit, medical admission (1st / 2nd / 3rd class)RM7,000 / RM3,000 / RM1,400RM1,050 / RM350 / RM20
Deposit, surgical admissionRM11,000 / RM5,000 / RM2,800RM1,650 / RM400 / RM30

Two caveats matter. First, some MOH hospital pages still show older specialist fees of RM78 or RM60, so the RM120 rate is what most pages we checked list, not a figure every hospital displays. Second, the ward rate covers the bed only: treatment, tests and procedures are charged in addition, and we found no official per-procedure list for foreigners. The ministry publishes no waiting-time statistics we could use, so we make no claim about queues. Our guide to retiring in Malaysia describes daily life around clinics and hospitals, and healthcare systems by country sets Malaysia against other destinations.

Does MM2H require a Malaysian insurance company?

No: the tourism ministry’s own MM2H guide says the health insurance “must be from any Malaysian or foreign insurance provider with worldwide coverage”. That sentence, in the Guide Malaysia My Second Home published on the MM2H portal’s reference page, settles a question that agents answer in different ways. Some agency pages still say only Malaysian policies are accepted; the official text does not say that.

The same guide explains when the policy is needed. After the One Stop Centre (OSC MM2H) issues a conditional approval, applicants have 90 days to prepare five documents: the fixed deposit certificate from a Malaysian licensed bank, health insurance “applicable for applicants aged 60 and below”, the medical check-up report from a ministry panel clinic or hospital, the personal bond form stamped by the Inland Revenue Board, and a valid passport. The document checklist at the back of the guide repeats the age rule. At renewal after the maximum pass period, the guide lists a passport copy, the latest medical report and health insurance, with no age split.

QuestionOfficial answerWhere it is written
Malaysian insurer only?No: “any Malaysian or foreign insurance provider”MM2H guide, application process footnote
Territory“with worldwide coverage” (not defined)Same footnote
Who must show it at approvalApplicants aged 60 and belowGuide, step 8 and document checklist
DeadlineWithin 90 days of the conditional approvalGuide, step 8
At renewal after the maximum periodHealth insurance listed for every holderGuide and July 2024 terms
Minimum sum insuredNot stated–
Insurer list41 Malaysian insurers and takaful operators, “among others”Ministry list of insurance companies

What the texts leave open matters as much. “Worldwide coverage” is not defined, no minimum sum is given, and nothing says whether a policy with a future start date can be filed. How “60 and below” is counted (by birthday or by calendar year) is not stated either. These gaps are why every MM2H applicant should get the operator’s written confirmation, naming the insurer and the plan, before paying a premium. The full visa route, deposits and home rules are on our Malaysia retirement visa (MM2H) guide.

What insurance does each MM2H tier need, and when?

Every national tier follows the same insurance rule, so the tier changes only how long you hold the pass before the renewal that needs insurance again. Silver passes run 5 years, SEZ/SFZ 10, Gold 15 and Platinum 20, and all are renewable. The deposits differ widely: USD 150,000 for Silver, USD 500,000 for Gold, USD 1,000,000 for Platinum, and USD 32,000 for SEZ/SFZ applicants aged 50 or over, whose home must be in Forest City, Johor.

TierFixed depositPass lengthInsurance at approvalInsurance at renewal
SilverUSD 150,0005 yearsIf aged 60 and belowAfter 5 years
GoldUSD 500,00015 yearsIf aged 60 and belowAfter 15 years
PlatinumUSD 1,000,00020 yearsIf aged 60 and belowAfter 20 years
SEZ/SFZ (Forest City)USD 32,000 at 50+ (USD 65,000 at 21–49)10 yearsIf aged 60 and belowAfter 10 years

The ministry also allows up to 50% of the fixed deposit to be withdrawn after approval for a home, education, medical treatment or tourism in Malaysia, and the guide states that long-term medical treatment in Malaysia is allowed within the pass validity. That withdrawal is not insurance: it is your own capital, and it may be needed for the compulsory home purchase. A Silver applicant aged 61 has no insurance document to show at approval, but will need one at the five-year renewal, when buying a new policy is harder. Planning cover early avoids that trap. The cost of living in Malaysia guide separates these tied-up sums from monthly spending.

What health insurance does the DE Rantau nomad pass need?

The DE Rantau Nomad Pass needs a valid health insurance policy covering Malaysia, with at least three months’ validity and valid throughout the pass period, and MDEC does not ask for a Malaysian insurer. The wording comes from MDEC’s FAQ, version 10, dated 28 August 2026, which lists the documents for the endorsement stage: passport, the latest immigration entry stamp, a visa with reference where your nationality needs one, the tax e-registration slip from the Inland Revenue Board, the insurance policy and, where MDEC sponsors you, a personal bond.

DE Rantau itemMDEC rule (FAQ v10, August 2026)
InsuranceHealth policy covering Malaysia, minimum 3 months, valid for the whole pass
WhenEndorsement, after approval and after you enter Malaysia (entry stamp required)
PassProfessional Visit Pass, 3 to 12 months, renewable once for 12 months, 24 months at most
IncomeUSD 24,000 a year (tech and digital roles); USD 60,000 (non-tech roles)
AgeMain pass holder over 18
FeesProcessing RM1,080 per applicant, RM540 per dependant; pass fee RM90 per 3 months or RM360 a year

Timing works in a nomad’s favour here. Because endorsement needs your latest entry stamp, you are already in Malaysia when you upload the policy, and the approval letter stays valid for six months. A long-term plan that starts on the 1st of the month after you cross the border can be in force by then, although we make no claim that MDEC accepts any particular insurer. The digital nomad health insurance guide covers travel versus long-term cover, and digital nomad visas by country compares DE Rantau with other routes.

Sarawak and Sabah: state programmes with their own insurance rules

Sarawak and Sabah run their own second-home programmes outside the national MM2H terms, so the MM2H guide’s “Malaysian or foreign insurer” sentence does not automatically apply there. The official Sarawak S-MM2H FAQ we read in October 2026 says nothing about health insurance; it does say the medical examination is mandatory and must be done in Sarawak. Agents report that Sarawak requires a policy from a local panel insurer for applicants up to 70 from 1 September 2026, with an overseas insurer allowed from 71 and a waiver if insurers refuse you; we could not confirm this in an official text. Sabah’s current official terms were not available to us at all.

ProgrammeInsurance rule we could verifyMalaysian insurer?Care Expat World role
National MM2HAged 60 and below at approval; everyone at renewalNo (Malaysian or foreign, worldwide coverage)Possible policy, acceptance not confirmed
Sarawak S-MM2HOfficial wording not found; panel insurer reportedPossibly yesIf a local policy is required, the plan does not meet it; optional cover alongside
Sabah MM2HCurrent terms not foundUnknownAsk the state ministry first
DE RantauPolicy covering Malaysia for the whole passNoPossible policy, acceptance not confirmed

If a state programme does require a Malaysian insurer, Care Expat World does not meet that requirement, because it is an international plan from a German insurer, Barmenia. In that case the local policy is your visa insurance. An international plan becomes optional: worth it only if you spend long periods in other countries, want cover that follows you if you move on, or want benefits the local policy lacks. Paying for both means paying twice for treatment in Malaysia.

How much do private hospitals in Kuala Lumpur and Penang charge?

Typical private hospital bills in Malaysia run from about RM4,700 for a day-case endoscopy to about RM33,400 for a knee replacement, according to the reference guide that the life, takaful and general insurance associations published in January 2026 from 2024 claims data. The guide is part of the government’s RESET framework on private healthcare costs and reports the median bill (the “typical bill”) and the range paid by the middle half of patients, by state and by age group.

Procedure (typical bill, RM)MalaysiaKuala LumpurSelangorPenangJohor
Upper GI endoscopy with biopsy (day case)4,7005,0004,9003,9005,000
Cataract surgery (day case)8,4008,8008,8006,90010,100
Coronary angiogram (inpatient)11,70011,60013,4008,40013,400
Appendix removal20,70024,50022,70016,70021,500
Gallbladder removal21,30022,20024,00017,80024,600
Total knee replacement33,40033,40038,00026,90036,900

Source: LIAM, MTA and PIAM, Price Ranges for Common Private Healthcare Services in Malaysia (prepared December 2025, published 22 January 2026), 2024 claims of insured patients. Middle-half ranges for Malaysia: endoscopy RM3,300–6,100; cataract RM6,800–10,300; angiogram RM8,800–18,300; appendix RM17,000–25,500; gallbladder RM16,900–27,800; knee RM28,100–38,200.

Read the figures with care. They are bills for insured patients in 2024, they exclude costs before and after the hospital stay, and the guide itself says they are not fixed or recommended prices. We found no official statement on whether private hospitals bill foreign patients differently. Penang came out lower than Kuala Lumpur for every procedure in the table; for patients aged 61 and over, a knee replacement typically cost RM33,300 and an angiogram RM11,000. At the Bank Negara rate of 4.08 ringgit per dollar, a Kuala Lumpur knee replacement is about USD 8,200 and a Penang cataract operation about USD 1,700.

The law covers only part of the bill. The Private Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 1998 sets a fee schedule for doctors’ consultation and procedure fees, but not for medicines, consumables or equipment, and since 1 May 2025 private clinics, hospitals and pharmacies must display medicine prices. Malaysia also promotes itself to foreign patients: the Malaysia Healthcare Travel Council reported 1.6 million healthcare travellers and RM2.72 billion in revenue for 2024 and is running a Malaysia Year of Medical Tourism in 2026. Medical travellers are a different group from residents, though; a resident needs cover for the years, not for one operation.

Malaysian private health insurance: how the local market works

Malaysian medical policies are sold by life insurers and takaful operators supervised by Bank Negara Malaysia, and the ministry’s MM2H list names 41 of them, from AIA and Allianz to Etiqa, Great Eastern and Zurich. Prices have been under pressure: Bank Negara said medical cost inflation reached 15% in 2024, above the global and Asia-Pacific average of 10%. In December 2024 it ordered interim measures that spread premium increases over at least three years until the end of 2026, aiming for yearly increases below 10% for at least 80% of policyholders, and a one-year pause for policyholders aged 60 and over on the minimum plan; it also announced a base medical product covering essential needs.

FeatureMalaysian medical policyInternational long-term plan
Who sells itMalaysian insurers and takaful operators (BNM-supervised)Foreign insurers; Care Expat World via Care Concept and Barmenia
MM2H (national)Allowed; ministry lists 41 companiesAllowed in principle if it has worldwide coverage; confirm the plan
State panel-insurer rule (if it applies)Meets itDoes not meet it
TerritorySet per policy; check itSet by zone
Premium changesMedical repricing; BNM interim measures until end-2026Annual review on 1 January plus age bands
Entry ages and limitsSet by each insurer; no official rule foundCare Expat World: start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; no annual overall limit

Before you buy a Malaysian policy, check four things in writing: the maximum entry age and whether cover continues for life, the annual and lifetime limits, how pre-existing conditions are treated, and the territory (Malaysia only, Asia, or worldwide). If you hold MM2H, also confirm that the policy matches what the One Stop Centre checks at renewal. Our expat health insurance guide explains how long-term international plans differ from local ones.

Where does Care Expat World fit for expats in Malaysia?

Care Expat World is a long-term international plan that treats Malaysia as Zone 1, so it pays private treatment in Malaysia and in every other country except the USA, China and Singapore, where Zone 1 pays emergencies only on trips of up to 42 days (never in your own home country). It fits people who are free to choose their insurer: national MM2H applicants once their operator confirms the plan, applicants over 60 who need no policy at approval but want cover, DE Rantau nomads, spouses and residents on other passes. It does not fit a programme that requires a Malaysian insurer.

FeatureGovernment hospital, paying yourselfMalaysian policyCare Expat World (Zone 1)
Monthly costNone; you pay each billSet by each insurerFrom €200 at 55–59 and €325 at 60–64
Where it paysMOH facilities onlyPer policy territoryWorldwide except the USA, China and Singapore; there, emergencies only, up to 42 days per trip, never in your home country
Private hospitalsNoYes, per contractYes, free choice of doctor, no network tie
Age rulesNonePer insurerCover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; no end age
Health questionsNonePer insurerVideo interview; surcharge, exclusion or refusal possible
Home-country visits–Per policyOnly for EU or Schengen home countries
Accepted for MM2H or DE Rantau?–Ministry lists 41 insurersNot confirmed; ask in writing

Three plan rules shape a move to Malaysia. Cover starts on the 1st of a month, can be booked at most four months ahead and never before you cross the border, so use travel insurance for the trip and the first days. Prior health insurance that ended no more than 12 months before the start is a condition, with a 31-day waiting period after a gap; whether Medicare, the NHS or a travel policy counts, the documents don’t confirm this, so ask Care Concept in writing. And the documents promise no direct billing with Malaysian hospitals, so expect to pay the deposit and claim. The insurer’s terms add that it cannot guarantee the contract satisfies any local compulsory insurance rule. All benefits and limits are on the plan details page; for timing with a long medical history, see pre-existing conditions.

Johor Bahru and Singapore: which zone do you need?

If you live in Johor and only cross the causeway for shopping, Zone 1 covers your life in Malaysia and emergencies in Singapore on trips of up to 42 days (that emergency cover never applies in your home country); if you want doctors or surgery in Singapore, you need Zone 2. Zone 1 is defined as the world without the USA, China and Singapore, so planned care there is not paid. You can change zone on the 1st of any month, but treatment that was already recommended or planned before the switch is excluded in the higher zone, so decide before a diagnosis, not after.

Care Expat World, Basic, €3,600 deductible55–5960–64Singapore cover
Zone 1 (Malaysia, not Singapore)€200€325Emergencies only, up to 42 days per trip; never in your home country
Zone 2 (adds Singapore and China)€355€560Full cover
Zone 3 (adds the USA)–€960Full cover; still never in your home country

Johor has its own private hospitals: the industry guide puts the typical knee replacement bill there at RM36,900 and a gallbladder removal at RM24,600, so whether you also need Singapore depends on where your doctors are. Zone 2 at 55–59 costs €155 a month more than Zone 1 on Basic. How Singapore’s own system treats foreigners is explained in health insurance in Singapore for foreigners.

Health insurance in Malaysia for Americans vs Britons

Neither Americans nor Britons bring public cover to Malaysia: Medicare generally does not pay for care outside the United States, and GOV.UK says Malaysia has no reciprocal health agreement with the UK, so the NHS and an S1 do not help. Both groups pay non-citizen fees in government hospitals or rely on private insurance.

AmericanBritonEU citizen (e.g. German)
Public cover from home in MalaysiaNone (Medicare generally not abroad)None (no reciprocal agreement; S1 not usable)None found
Government hospitalsNon-citizen ratesNon-citizen ratesNon-citizen rates
MM2H insurance ruleSame for every nationalitySameSame
Care Expat World on home visitsNot covered in the USANot covered in the UKUp to 180 days a year at home
Pension pointMedicare Part B decision before the moveUK State Pension frozen in Malaysia–

Americans should settle the Medicare Part B question before leaving, because dropping it can bring late-enrolment penalties on return; see health insurance for Americans living abroad. Britons should note that the UK State Pension does not rise each year for residents of Malaysia, which matters for long-term premiums; health insurance for UK expats covers the NHS side. EU citizens can read how the home-country benefit works in international health insurance with home-country cover.

Price calculator: your monthly premium and worst-case year

Monthly premium–
Premiums per year–
Worst case per year (premiums + full deductible)–

Zone 1 (worldwide except the USA, China and Singapore). Age = calendar year minus year of birth. Pre-existing conditions can add a surcharge after the health interview.

What does health cover in Malaysia cost in 2026?

A single specialist visit in a government hospital costs a foreigner RM120, a typical private cataract operation about RM8,400, and Care Expat World in Zone 1 starts from €140 a month at 50–54 and €325 at 60–64. Ringgit conversions below use the Bank Negara reference rate of 4.53 ringgit per euro on 28 October 2026 and are rounded to RM10.

OptionCostIn ringgitWhat you still pay
Government hospital, specialist visitRM120 per visit–Tests and medicines
Government hospital, 5 days in 1st class (ward only)RM1,600 + treatment–Deposit RM7,000 or RM11,000 up front
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 50–54€140 a monthRM630Up to €3,600 a year, then covered costs
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 55–59€200 a monthRM910Same
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 60–64€325 a monthRM1,470Same
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 55–59€505 a monthRM2,290Up to €1,200 a year; dental and check-ups included
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 60–64€655 a monthRM2,970Same
Care Expat World Premium, no deductible, 60–64€800 a monthRM3,620No deductible

Over a year at 60–64, Basic costs €3,900 in premiums and Comfort €7,860; in a heavy year, premiums plus the full deductible come to €7,500 on Basic and €9,060 on Comfort. Set against a typical Kuala Lumpur knee replacement of RM33,400 or a gallbladder removal of RM22,200 (about €7,373 and €4,901 at 4.53 ringgit per euro), a single operation can cost more than a year of Basic premiums. Premiums for every age and zone are on what international health insurance costs.

Checklist: health cover for your move to Malaysia

Worked examples: an American aged 58 and a Briton aged 62

Linda, 58, from Arizona, applies for MM2H Silver through a licensed operator to live in Penang. She is under 60, so after the conditional approval she has 90 days to file health insurance with the other documents. The ministry guide allows a Malaysian or foreign insurer with worldwide coverage, so before paying anything she asks her operator to confirm in writing whether the One Stop Centre will accept Care Expat World, given that Zone 1 excludes the USA, China and Singapore. With a yes, she starts Comfort with a €1,200 deductible on the 1st of the month after she arrives: €505 a month (about RM2,290), or €6,060 for the 12-month minimum term. With a no, she buys from an insurer on the ministry’s list instead. Either way, her visits to Arizona stay uncovered by the plan, and from 1 January of the year she turns 60 she pays the 60–64 rate of €655.

Graham, 62, from Leeds, moves to Kuala Lumpur on MM2H Silver. At 62 he has no insurance document to show at approval, but the guide lists health insurance for the renewal after five years, when he will be 67 and too old to start Care Expat World. He therefore starts Basic with the €3,600 deductible now, from the 1st of the month after arrival: €325 a month, about RM1,470, or €3,900 a year. The plan has no end age, so it can still be in force at renewal; whether the One Stop Centre accepts it then is something he will confirm with his operator. His trips to Leeds are not covered, because the UK is his home country, and his frozen State Pension means he budgets for premium rises from his savings.

A third case for Johor: a 56-year-old Australian in Johor Bahru who wants her cardiologist in Singapore would need Zone 2: Basic at €355 a month instead of €200 in Zone 1. If she is content with Johor’s private hospitals and emergency cover on trips to Singapore, Zone 1 is enough.

What if you are 65 or older?

At 65 or older MM2H stays open, because the terms set a minimum age of 25 and state no maximum, and applicants over 60 do not file insurance at approval, but private cover becomes the hard part. Care Expat World must start by 1 December of the year in which you turn 64, and Malaysian insurers set their own entry ages, which we could not verify from an official source. If you are close to the limit, the year you apply decides what remains open; see expat health insurance over 65 and age limits on international health insurance.

Health insurance in Malaysia vs other Southeast Asian countries

Malaysia’s MM2H lets applicants choose between a Malaysian and a foreign insurer, while Thailand’s O-A retirement visa sets a minimum insurance sum. All of the countries below are in Zone 1 of Care Expat World; Singapore is the exception that needs Zone 2.

CountryInsurance guideRetirement visa or move guideCare Expat World zone
MalaysiaThis pageMM2H guideZone 1
ThailandHealth insurance in ThailandThailand retirement visaZone 1
PhilippinesHealth insurance in the PhilippinesSRRV guideZone 1
VietnamHealth insurance in VietnamRetire in VietnamZone 1
IndonesiaHealth insurance in IndonesiaIndonesia retirement visaZone 1
SingaporeHealth insurance in SingaporeNo retirement visa foundZone 2

Insurance rules for each visa are collected on visa health insurance requirements by country.

What does Care Expat World cost in Malaysia from age 50?

In Malaysia (Zone 1), with a €1,200 yearly deductible, a 50–54-year-old pays from €220 a month and a 60–64-year-old from €390. The price depends only on age band, level, deductible and zone, not on the country inside the zone.

Age bandBasicComfortPremium
50–54€220€335€400
55–59€265€505€545
60–64€390€655€700
65–69 *€530€955€1,170
70+ *€985€1,295€1,570

Monthly premiums, €1,200 deductible per calendar year, before any surcharge from the health interview; insurer's premium table, all prices in our price index. * New cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; the 65–69 and 70+ bands apply to people who are already insured. A new age band applies from 1 January of the year you reach it.

Long-term health insurance for expats in Malaysia

The plan featured on this site. We earn a referral commission if you take it out, at no extra cost to you (how we are paid); this is information, not personal advice. Lowest prices (Basic, €3,600 deductible): €200 at 55–59, €325 at 60–64; €40 for ages 0–24.

Care Expat World Basic (hospital and doctor cover)

Lowest price, for people who mainly want protection against large medical bills.

  • Age 55-59€200–€345
  • Age 60-64€325–€460

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Hospital in a single or double room, chief physician
  • Outpatient treatment, medicines, X-ray, CT, MRI
  • Cancer treatment up to €50,000
  • Transport home when medically advised
  • 24/7 emergency line
  • No dental and no pregnancy cover
Apply for Basic: €200–€460/month
Middle level

Care Expat World Comfort (with dental and check-ups)

Adds dental, check-ups, physiotherapy, psychotherapy and pregnancy cover to Basic.

  • Age 55-59€350–€600
  • Age 60-64€495–€750

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Basic
  • Dental treatment; dentures 60% up to €8,000 a year
  • Check-ups €600 every 2 years; vaccinations €250 a year
  • Physiotherapy, osteopathy, glasses; psychotherapy 15 sessions a year
  • Pregnancy and birth after 10 months
  • Cancer treatment up to €100,000
Apply for Comfort: €350–€750/month

Care Expat World Premium (with psychotherapy)

Highest refunds, including more psychotherapy and 80% for dentures.

  • Age 55-59€405–€655
  • Age 60-64€545–€800

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Comfort
  • Dentures 80% up to €10,000 a year
  • Psychotherapy: 25 sessions a year
  • Check-ups €1,200 every 2 years
  • Alternative medicine €1,500 a year
  • Rescue costs up to €15,000
Apply for Premium: €405–€800/month

Malaysia sits in Zone 1: the whole world apart from the USA, China and Singapore, where cover is limited to emergencies on trips of up to 42 days and never applies in your own home country, so Americans are not covered in the USA at all. The terms pay at home only when the home country belongs to the EU or Schengen area, which leaves Britons without cover in the UK. Nothing here claims that OSC MM2H, a state programme or MDEC accepts the plan; if your programme requires a Malaysian insurer, this plan does not meet that rule. Already 65 or older in the year cover would start? This plan is closed to you; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit. Prices for every age are on the Care Expat World overview.

Plan your move to Malaysia

Frequently asked questions

Is health insurance mandatory for foreigners in Malaysia?

There is no single rule for every foreigner; the requirement comes with your pass. MM2H applicants aged 60 and below must show health insurance after approval and every MM2H holder needs it at renewal after the maximum pass period. DE Rantau nomads need a policy covering Malaysia for the whole pass. Without insurance, you pay non-citizen fees yourself.

Does MM2H accept foreign health insurance?

The tourism ministry’s own MM2H guide says the policy “must be from any Malaysian or foreign insurance provider with worldwide coverage”. So a foreign insurer is allowed in principle. Each file is still checked by the One Stop Centre, so ask your licensed MM2H operator to confirm in writing that your specific policy will be filed without problems.

Do I need health insurance for MM2H if I am over 60?

Not at the approval stage, according to the ministry guide: the health insurance document is marked “applicable for applicants aged 60 and below”. Insurance comes back as a required document when you renew the pass after its maximum period (5 years for Silver, 15 for Gold, 20 for Platinum, 10 for SEZ/SFZ), and the guide sets no age limit there.

Is Care Expat World accepted for MM2H?

We make no claim that it is. The plan covers Malaysia in Zone 1, but Zone 1 leaves out the USA, China and Singapore apart from short emergencies, and the MM2H guide asks for “worldwide coverage” without defining it. The insurer’s terms also say it cannot guarantee that the policy meets a local insurance obligation. Get your operator’s written answer before you buy.

What does worldwide coverage mean for MM2H health insurance?

The ministry does not define it. The guide only says the policy must come from a Malaysian or foreign provider “with worldwide coverage”, and we found no minimum sum insured and no list of countries that must be included. That is why the safest route is a written confirmation from your operator, naming the insurer and the plan, before you pay any premium.

When do MM2H applicants have to show health insurance?

After the conditional approval. The ministry guide gives approved applicants 90 days to prepare the fixed deposit certificate, health insurance (if aged 60 and below), the medical check-up report from a ministry panel clinic, the stamped personal bond form and a valid passport. The pass is endorsed only after these documents are filed.

Is there a minimum sum insured for MM2H health insurance?

Not in any official MM2H text we read in October 2026: the terms, the guide and the overview table name no amount. Figures that circulate online come from single agents and do not appear in ministry documents. Ask your operator what the One Stop Centre currently checks, and keep the answer in writing.

What health insurance do I need for the DE Rantau nomad pass?

MDEC’s FAQ (version 10, August 2026) asks for a “valid health insurance policy covering Malaysia (minimum 3-month validity and valid throughout the pass period)” at the endorsement stage. It does not ask for a Malaysian insurer. The policy has to last for the whole pass, which runs 3 to 12 months; if dependants join you, ask MDEC whether each needs a policy of their own.

Can I use travel insurance for the DE Rantau pass in Malaysia?

Only if it really is a health policy that covers Malaysia for at least three months and for the whole pass period; MDEC’s wording leaves no room for a policy that ends earlier. Read the dates and the territory before you upload it. A long-term plan with no end date avoids that problem.

Does Sarawak MM2H require a Malaysian insurer?

Possibly. Sarawak runs its own S-MM2H programme, and its official FAQ we read says nothing about insurance. Agents report a local panel-insurer rule for applicants up to 70 from 1 September 2026, which we could not confirm officially. If it applies to you, Care Expat World does not meet it; you would hold the local policy and could add an international plan alongside.

How much does a hospital stay cost a foreigner in a Malaysian government hospital?

The ward alone costs a non-citizen RM160 a day in third class and RM320 in first class, and treatment is billed on top under the 2014 fees order. Before admission you pay a deposit: RM1,400 to RM7,000 for a medical case and RM2,800 to RM11,000 for surgery, depending on the class. Malaysians pay RM3 to RM120 a day for the same wards.

Do government hospitals in Malaysia treat foreigners in an emergency?

Yes. In an October 2026 statement the Health Ministry said emergency treatment to save lives is given to any patient based on clinical need. Non-citizens are then charged full fees and higher deposits, and the ministry collects charges before discharge. GOV.UK lists 999 for police and ambulance, 112 for an ambulance from a mobile and 994 for the fire brigade.

How much does a knee replacement cost in a private hospital in Malaysia?

The insurance industry’s 2026 price guide, built from 2024 claims, puts the typical bill for a total knee replacement at RM33,400 nationally, with the middle half of patients paying RM28,100 to RM38,200. The typical bill was RM33,400 in Kuala Lumpur and RM26,900 in Penang. These are reference figures for insured patients, not fixed prices.

Is private hospital treatment cheaper in Penang than in Kuala Lumpur?

For the procedures in the industry price guide, the typical Penang bill was lower: a gallbladder removal at RM17,800 against RM22,200 in Kuala Lumpur, cataract surgery at RM6,900 against RM8,800, and an angiogram at RM8,400 against RM11,600. The guide warns that bills vary with the case, the implants and complications.

Why are medical insurance premiums rising in Malaysia?

Bank Negara Malaysia said medical cost inflation reached 15% in 2024, above the Asia-Pacific average of 10%. Its interim measures spread premium increases over at least three years until the end of 2026 and aimed to keep yearly rises below 10% for at least 80% of policyholders. What happens after 2026 has not been announced.

Can a foreigner buy medical insurance from a Malaysian insurer?

Yes. The tourism ministry publishes a list of 41 Malaysian insurers and takaful operators that MM2H participants may use, “among others”. Each company sets its own entry age, annual and lifetime limits, exclusions and territory, and we found no official rule on maximum entry ages, so ask for these in writing before you apply.

How much is expat health insurance in Malaysia at 60?

For someone in the 60–64 age band, the lowest Care Expat World price for Malaysia is €325 a month: Basic with the €3,600 deductible, about RM1,470 at the Bank Negara rate of 28 October 2026. Comfort with a €1,200 deductible is €655 a month. A surcharge or an exclusion after the video interview changes these figures.

Does Care Expat World cover me on day trips from Johor Bahru to Singapore?

On a Zone 1 plan, only for medical emergencies, on trips of up to 42 days (this emergency cover never applies in your home country). Planned check-ups, specialist visits or surgery in Singapore are not paid. If you want doctors in Singapore, you need Zone 2, which costs more; you can change zone on the 1st of any month, but treatment already planned is excluded in the new zone.

Are Americans in Malaysia covered by Care Expat World when they fly home?

No. An American declares the USA as home country, and under the binding German terms only EU or Schengen home countries get cover during visits. Nor does the short emergency cover outside Zone 1 reach the USA for you. For trips to the US, buy travel insurance, or rely on Medicare there once you qualify.

Can a UK S1 form be used in Malaysia?

No. GOV.UK says Malaysia does not have a reciprocal health agreement with the UK, so neither an S1 nor the NHS pays for care there, and it advises appropriate insurance from international or Malaysian providers. Britons in Malaysia therefore pay non-citizen fees or rely on private insurance.

Does Care Expat World pay Malaysian private hospitals directly?

Do not count on it. Nothing in the plan documents promises that the insurer settles bills with Malaysian hospitals, so expect to pay the deposit and the invoice yourself and claim afterwards. Keep a credit-card limit or cash reserve for any deposit a hospital asks for.

Should I hold a Malaysian policy and an international plan at the same time?

Only if a rule forces the local policy, for example a state programme that names panel insurers, and you also want cover that follows you to other countries. Otherwise one policy that meets your pass rule is enough. Paying twice buys overlapping cover for treatment in Malaysia.

Does Care Expat World need previous health insurance before a move to Malaysia?

Yes. You need earlier health insurance that ran until at most 12 months before your start date; with a gap, a 31-day waiting period applies. Whether Medicare, the NHS or a travel policy counts as that prior insurance: the documents don’t confirm this; ask Care Concept in writing.

Can a German or French retiree in Malaysia use Care Expat World on visits home?

Yes, within limits. When the declared home country is in the EU or Schengen area, the terms cover stays there of up to 180 days per calendar year. Cover ends when you return home for good. This home benefit does not exist for Americans, Britons, Canadians or Australians.

What health cover can a foreigner get in Malaysia after 65?

MM2H itself has no maximum age, and over-60 applicants do not have to show insurance at approval, but private cover narrows with age. Care Expat World takes no one who reaches 65 in the calendar year cover would begin, and each Malaysian insurer sets its own entry age; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit.

Where these facts come from

Official texts do not define “worldwide coverage” for MM2H, set no minimum sum insured and do not say how the age of 60 is counted. Sarawak’s insurance rule and Sabah’s current terms were not available in official form, and some MOH hospital pages show older specialist fees. Private bill figures are for insured patients in 2024. Check with your operator, MDEC or the hospital before you rely on a figure.

Why do expats in Malaysia look at Care Expat World?

What it gives you

  • A large German insurer behind it: the risk carrier is Barmenia Krankenversicherung AG, part of the BarmeniaGothaer group (premium income of about €9.27 billion expected for 2025, company announcement of 15 December 2025), supervised by Germany's financial regulator BaFin.
  • No annual maximum on total benefits, and no fixed end date or end age once you are in.
  • The insurer gives up its right to cancel in the normal way, so it cannot end your cover with ordinary notice, for example after large claims.
  • Free choice of doctor, with no network you must stay inside.
  • Pre-existing conditions are judged one by one in a video interview, with no blanket exclusion.
  • Check-ups, dental treatment and vaccinations are paid without touching your deductible (where your level covers them).
  • No fixed home address needed, and you can apply while already living abroad.
  • 14 days to change your mind after you sign.

What to know first

  • Cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64.
  • Minimum term 12 months; cover always starts on the 1st of a month.
  • The interview can lead to a surcharge, an exclusion or a refusal.
  • 10-month wait for pregnancy, dentures and orthodontics.
  • No home-country cover if your home country is outside the EU/Schengen area (for example the USA or the UK).
  • Not for people living in Germany, and no written confirmation yet that it meets any specific visa rule.

Private cover for Malaysia from the first of the month after you arrive

Long-term international cover with no end date once you are in, private hospitals in Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor, and trips across Zone 1. Check your pass rule first; start cover by 1 December of the year you turn 64.

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).