Health Insurance in Japan for Expats and Foreigners 2026: NHI, Visa Rules and Private Medical Insurance

Residents: NHI or employee insurance, no opt-outCo-pay: 30% (20% at 70–74)Digital nomads: private cover of ¥10 million+Private cover from €40/month
Quick answer Health insurance in Japan is compulsory for foreign residents in 2026: if you stay more than three months you join employee health insurance through a job or National Health Insurance at your city office, and private cover cannot replace it. You pay 30% of most bills, with a monthly cap. Visitors, digital nomads and long-stay tourists cannot join and need private medical insurance, at least ¥10 million for nomads.

Japan NHI or private cover: which applies to me?

Pick your residence status, how long you will stay and your age band. The tool tells you whether a Japanese public scheme is compulsory for you, the share of each bill you would pay, and the lowest Care Expat World price for your age. Add last year’s net income in yen for an NHI premium estimate on the Nerima City (Tokyo) fiscal 2026 formula.

Public scheme compulsory?–
Your share of a covered bill–
Care Expat World, Zone 1–
NHI estimate, Nerima City, per year–
–

Rules from Nerima City’s NHI Guidebook 2026, the Immigration Services Agency pages for digital nomads and long stays, and GOV.UK. The premium estimate is for a one-person household, before rounding and before any low-income reduction; other cities use other rates, and the city office decides which income counts in your first year. Plan prices from our Care Expat World registry, lowest level for your age, before any surcharge from the health interview.

Key facts: health insurance in Japan for foreigners (2026)

Topic2026 fact
Residents staying more than 3 monthsMust join employee health insurance or National Health Insurance (NHI)
Opting out with private insuranceNot possible; private or travel cover does not replace NHI
Enrolment deadlineWithin 14 days of moving in; premiums are backdated if you are late
Co-payment30% up to 69; 20% before school age; 20% or 30% at 70–74; 10–30% from 75
Monthly cap (under 70, middle income)¥85,800 + 1% of the bill above ¥286,000, from 1 August 2026
NHI premium, Nerima City7.51% + 2.80% (+ 2.43% at 40–64) + 0.27% of income base, plus per-capita amounts; at most ¥1,130,000 a year
Digital nomad visaNo NHI; private insurance of at least ¥10 million for treatment, six months, no extension
Long stay for sightseeing and recreationNo NHI; private insurance for the whole stay; up to one year; savings above ¥30 million
Temporary visitorsCannot join NHI; private insurance strongly encouraged
Care Expat WorldJapan is in Zone 1; start by 1 December of the year you turn 64

Sources: Nerima City and Minato City NHI pages, Yokohama City, Tokyo Metropolitan Government, Immigration Services Agency of Japan, Japan Pension Service, Japan Tourism Agency, GOV.UK. Full list at the end of the page.

Who has to join public health insurance in Japan?

Every foreigner who is registered as a resident of a Japanese town must be in a public health insurance scheme, and in practice that means anyone whose stay is longer than three months. Nerima City’s 2026 guidebook says all people who live in Japan must enrol, and that an individual cannot decide of their own free will to join or to leave. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government’s English medical guide gives the three-month rule, and GOV.UK tells British nationals that a visa valid for more than 90 days means enrolment in NHI or employee insurance.

Your situationPublic schemeCan you choose private only?Source
Employee of a company in Japan in a qualifying jobEmployee health insurance (Kenko Hoken)NoNerima City; GOV.UK
Spouse, dependant, permanent resident, business manager or freelancer staying more than 3 monthsNational Health Insurance at the city or ward officeNoNerima City
Resident with a stay of 3 months or lessNone, unless documents show a stay of more than 3 monthsYesNerima City
Worker sent from abroad with a Certificate of CoverageNHI not neededDepends on the agreementNerima City; Japan Pension Service
Digital nomad (designated activities)None: not eligiblePrivate cover is a visa conditionImmigration Services Agency
Long stay for sightseeing and recreationNone: excluded from NHIPrivate cover is a visa conditionNerima City; Immigration Services Agency
Temporary visitorNone: excludedYes, travel insuranceNerima City
Aged 75 or olderMedical Care System for Older Senior CitizensNoNerima City

Two rules matter from the first day. First, the timing: you have 14 days after moving in to enrol, and if you are late, premiums are charged back to the date you should have joined, while bills from the gap are yours in full unless the delay was unavoidable. Second, the permanence: Nerima City states that you cannot leave NHI because you already hold international student insurance, a life insurance plan with medical benefits or traveller’s accident insurance, and you cannot leave because premiums feel high or you never see a doctor. If you are a resident, a private or international plan sits on top of NHI; it does not replace it. For how Japan’s system compares with 29 others, see healthcare systems by country.

NHI or employee health insurance: what is the difference?

Employee health insurance is run for people with a job in Japan and the employer pays part of the premium, while National Health Insurance is run by your town for everyone else and you pay the whole premium yourself. Both give the same basic deal at the clinic: you show your card, pay your share and the scheme pays the rest. People who are in an employees’ scheme, or are eligible for one, cannot join NHI.

FeatureEmployee health insurance (Shakai Hoken)National Health Insurance (Kokumin Kenko Hoken)
Who is in itEmployees in qualifying jobsResidents not in an employee scheme: self-employed, unemployed, spouses not covered elsewhere, retirees under 75
Where you enrolThrough the employerCity or ward office, within 14 days
Who pays the premiumShared with the employerYou, as head of household, for every member
Premium basisSalaryPrevious year’s income plus a per-capita amount, set by each town
Your share at the clinicSame age-based sharesSame age-based shares
After you leave the jobVoluntary continuation for up to 2 years (apply within 20 days)–

When you change from one to the other, act within 14 days. If you take a job with employee insurance but forget to leave NHI, Nerima City warns that you will be a member of two schemes and billed twice. If you leave a job, you either continue the employee scheme voluntarily or join NHI; the voluntary route has a short 20-day window. Freelancers and remote workers paid from abroad who hold a resident status and no employee scheme belong in NHI, which our health insurance guide for freelancers abroad places in a wider context.

How much does National Health Insurance cost in Japan in 2026?

NHI costs between about ¥85,000 and ¥1,130,000 a year for a single person aged 40–64 in Nerima City (Tokyo) in fiscal 2026, before any low-income reduction, because the premium is a percentage of last year’s income plus a fixed amount per person, with caps. Every town sets its own rates, so take Nerima as one official example, not a national price.

The Nerima guidebook splits the premium into four parts. Each takes a percentage of your income base, which is last year’s total net income minus a ¥430,000 basic exemption, and adds an amount per insured person. The care portion applies only to members aged 40 to 64; from 65 the long-term care premium is billed separately. The child and childcare support portion is new in fiscal 2026.

Portion (Nerima City, fiscal 2026)Income ratePer personYearly cap
Basic (medical treatment)7.51%¥47,600¥670,000
Latter-term elderly support2.80%¥17,600¥260,000
Long-term care (members aged 40–64 only)2.43%¥17,800¥170,000
Child and childcare support (new in 2026)0.27%¥1,873 (waived under 18)¥30,000
Last year’s total net incomeMemberYearly NHI premium, one person (our calculation)
¥0No reported income, aged 40–64¥84,873
¥1,000,000Aged 40–64¥159,030
¥2,000,000Aged 40–64¥289,130
¥4,000,000Aged 40–64¥549,330
¥4,000,000Aged 65–74 (care premium billed separately)¥444,779
¥6,000,000Aged 40–64¥809,530
¥20,000,000Aged 40–64 (all four caps reached)¥1,130,000

Calculated with the published Nerima City formula for April 2026 to March 2027, before rounding. Low-income households have the per-capita part cut by 70, 50 or 20 percent automatically, but only if their income has been reported.

Practical points come with the bill. The year runs from April to March and is paid in ten instalments from June to March, so April and May show no payment. You pay from the month you became eligible, not from the day you filled in the form, and in whole months. If you lived outside Japan on 1 January, the city sends a simplified income report; the guide does not say how income earned abroad is treated, so ask the NHI counter at your city office. The bill goes to the head of household even if that person is not in NHI, and it covers every NHI member in the home.

What do you pay at the doctor in Japan with public insurance?

With NHI or employee insurance you pay 30% of the bill at the counter if you are between school age and 69, and the scheme pays the other 70%. Children before school age pay 20%. At 70 to 74 the share falls to 20% unless your household has higher income, and at 75 you move to the separate system for older senior citizens.

AgeYour shareNoteSource
0 to school age20%–Nerima City
School age to 6930%AdultsNerima City
70 to 7420%, or 30%30% if a 70+ member’s taxable income for resident tax is ¥1,450,000 or more, with income tests that can bring it back to 20%Nerima City
75 and older10%, 20% or 30%Medical Care System for Older Senior Citizens; 20% for people with a certain income since October 2022Health ministry (MHLW)

Nerima City says the majority of medical facilities are partnered with NHI. If you visit one that is not, or you arrive without your card, you pay the full bill and claim later where the rules allow. Show your Myna health insurance certificate (a My Number card with the health function switched on) or the paper qualification certificate the city issues if you do not have one. Using someone else’s card is reported to the police.

How does the high-cost medical expense benefit cap your bills?

The high-cost medical expense benefit caps what a household pays in co-payments each month, so a large hospital bill costs you a few tens of thousands of yen to a few hundred thousand rather than 30% of the total. The caps rose on 1 August 2026, and Minato City says they will change again in August 2027. Bills are counted per calendar month; private-room charges, meals and treatment outside the scheme do not count.

Income band (under 70, income base)Monthly cap from August 2026From the 4th capped month in a yearYearly cap (August to July)
¥9.01 million or more¥270,300 + 1% of the bill above ¥901,000¥140,100¥1,680,000
Over ¥6.00 million to ¥9.01 million¥179,100 + 1% of the bill above ¥597,000¥93,000¥1,100,000
Over ¥2.10 million to ¥6.00 million¥85,800 + 1% of the bill above ¥286,000¥44,400¥530,000
¥2.10 million or less¥61,500¥44,400¥530,000 (some households ¥410,000)
Household exempt from resident tax¥36,900¥24,600¥290,000

A worked figure shows the effect. A month in hospital with a total bill of ¥1,000,000 would cost ¥300,000 at 30%. In the middle income band the cap is ¥85,800 plus 1% of ¥714,000, so you pay about ¥92,940 (our calculation), plus meals and any private-room charge. Ask the city for a ceiling-amount certificate before a planned stay, or use your Myna card, and the hospital charges only the capped amount. Otherwise you pay 30% and the refund follows months later. Nerima’s guidebook, printed before August, still shows the older caps (for example ¥80,100 plus 1% above ¥267,000 in the middle band); the newer Minato figures are the ones in force.

What does Japanese public health insurance leave out?

NHI leaves out general check-ups, vaccinations, normal pregnancy and delivery, cosmetic treatment and private-room charges, and it pays for treatment abroad only at Japanese rates. Private or international cover can fill some of these gaps.

Not covered, or only partlyWhat NHI does insteadSource
General check-ups and the Ningen Dock full examinationSeparate municipal health check programmesNerima City
VaccinationsPay yourself, except municipal programmesNerima City
Normal pregnancy and deliveryChildbirth lump-sum allowance of ¥500,000 per childNerima City
Cosmetic treatmentNothingNerima City
Private-room extra charges, hospital mealsYou pay; meals ¥510 each; both outside the capNerima City
Treatment abroadRefund after return, based on the Japanese fee level minus your share; not for trips made for treatmentNerima City
Traffic-accident injuriesCovered only after you notify the city; the person at fault paysNerima City

The overseas rule matters most for people who travel. If you fall ill in Thailand or Europe while you are an NHI member, you pay the local bill, bring forms filled in by the hospital and Japanese translations, and claim after you are back. The refund is worked out on what the same care would cost in Japan, so a high foreign bill can leave a large balance. A long-term international plan pays on its own terms in every Zone 1 country; our expat health insurance guide explains how such plans work.

What health insurance does the Japan digital nomad visa need?

The Japan digital nomad status needs private medical insurance that covers death, injury and illness during the stay, with at least ¥10 million for medical treatment of injury and illness, because nomads cannot join Japanese public insurance. The Immigration Services Agency also asks for an annual income of at least ¥10 million and allows a stay of six months with no extension. No residence card is issued.

RuleDigital nomad (designated activities)
IncomeAt least ¥10 million a year at the time of application
StaySix months; no extension; wait six months before applying again
NationalityCountries on the agency’s chart, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and EU states
Insurance: whatPrivate medical travel insurance covering death, injury and illness during the stay
Insurance: how muchAt least ¥10 million for treatment of injury and illness; death: body transport or a death payment, no amount set
DocumentsInsurance certificate, copy of the policy terms, and the agency’s explanation-of-coverage form
Public insuranceNot eligible (agency Q&A, July 2024)
Spouse and childrenSame insurance rule

Read the death clause carefully: the agency’s Q&A says the policy must include transport of the body or an insurance payment on death. A health plan may list medical transport home but not repatriation of remains, so check the wording of whatever policy you plan to show. Timing matters too: the documents go in with the application for a certificate of eligibility, before you travel, so the policy must already exist and must run for the planned stay. Our digital nomad health insurance guide covers the travel-versus-long-term question, and digital nomad visas by country sets Japan beside other routes.

What insurance does the long-stay visa for sightseeing and recreation need?

The long-stay status for sightseeing and recreation, the closest thing Japan has to a retirement visa, needs private medical insurance for the whole planned stay that covers death, injury and illness in Japan, and the agency page we read sets no minimum sum. Holders are excluded from NHI. The stay is limited to one year, and an Embassy of Japan checklist asks for savings of more than ¥30 million and an applicant aged 18 or over.

RuleLong stay for sightseeing and recreationSource
Purpose and lengthSightseeing, recreation and similar, for a stay not exceeding one yearImmigration Services Agency
MoneySavings of more than ¥30 million; bank records for the past six monthsEmbassy of Japan checklist (via its visa centre, Sept 2025); agency
Age18 or olderEmbassy checklist
InsurancePrivate medical insurance certificate and terms; period matching the stay; covers death, injury and illness in JapanImmigration Services Agency
Minimum coverNot stated on the agency page–
SpouseCan accompany; needs the same insuranceAgency; embassy checklist
NHIExcludedNerima City

Because there is no stated minimum, the officer reviewing your file decides whether your policy is adequate. A policy that names you, states Japan, shows dates covering the full stay and lists death, injury and illness benefits is the safest document. Japan has no retirement visa in the sense of Thailand or Portugal; for countries where retirees can settle, compare retirement visas by country, and for what each visa demands of your insurance, see visa health insurance requirements by country.

Can visitors to Japan use National Health Insurance?

No: people with temporary visitor status are excluded from NHI, so a tourist or business visitor pays the full bill unless a private policy pays it. The Japan Tourism Agency strongly encourages private medical insurance with adequate cover and notes that it can be bought before the trip or after arrival. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government adds that visitors who leave medical bills unpaid may be refused entry in future.

The two cost examples on the official tourism and Tokyo pages, both from an insurer’s assistance company, show why: about ¥7.5 million for a bicycle collision that caused a collapsed lung and broken ribs (surgery, 19 days in hospital, a doctor escort and a business-class flight home) and about ¥10 million for a heart attack with surgery and 45 days in hospital. If you visit Japan from a base elsewhere in Asia, Care Expat World covers Japan as part of Zone 1, subject to its terms.

How does private health insurance in Japan work for foreigners?

Private health insurance in Japan works in two very different ways for foreigners: for residents it is optional extra cover on top of compulsory NHI or employee insurance, and for nomads, long-stay tourists and visitors it is the only cover they have. That difference decides what to buy.

Residents consider private cover for four reasons: private rooms and the hospitals they prefer, items NHI leaves out such as check-ups and some dental work, cover while travelling outside Japan, and one policy that keeps running if they move on to another country. Japanese insurers sell medical policies to residents; we found no official price list. Before you buy, ask in writing: does it pay the bill or a fixed cash amount per day in hospital, does it pay outside Japan, is there an age at which it stops, and how are pre-existing conditions treated?

Non-residents need a policy that would work without any public scheme behind it. For a nomad, that means meeting the ¥10 million treatment rule and the death clause. For a long-stay visitor, it means dates and benefits matching the stay. Travel policies are built for this; long-term international plans can be, if their wording and start date fit. People with medical history should read how pre-existing conditions are handled before applying anywhere.

Where does Care Expat World fit for expats in Japan?

Care Expat World fits in two places in Japan: as the private top-up and worldwide cover for residents who must still join NHI, and, for nomads and long-stay visitors, only as a policy whose fit with the visa wording is unconfirmed: the documents show no death or repatriation-of-remains benefit, the immigration officer decides, and we make no claim that it is accepted. Japan is in Zone 1, which covers the whole world except the USA, China and Singapore; in those three it pays only emergencies, for trips of up to 42 days, and never in your own home country.

FeatureNHI (Nerima example)Travel policy for a visaCare Expat World (Zone 1)
Compulsory for residents?YesNoNo; it does not replace NHI
Yearly costAbout ¥289,130 at ¥2 million income, aged 62Set by each insurerFrom €3,900 at 60–64
Your share of a bill30%, capped monthlyPer policyDeductible of €0, €1,200 or €3,600 a year
Where it paysJapan; abroad only at Japanese ratesJapan, for the tripEvery country except the USA, China and Singapore (there, emergencies only, up to 42 days per trip); never in your home country
Private roomsYou pay the extra chargePer policySingle or double room, chief physician
TermWhile residentFixed dates12-month minimum, then no end date
Age rulesNone to joinPer insurerStart by 1 December of the year you turn 64
Visa role–Built for itThe officer decides; the terms say nothing about visas

For residents, the plan is an addition. You keep paying NHI, and you hold the plan for private hospitals, travel across Zone 1 and, on Comfort and Premium, dental care, check-ups and glasses. The insurer’s terms say it cannot guarantee that the contract satisfies any local compulsory insurance rule, which is one more reason not to treat it as a substitute. How the plan’s refunds work when NHI has already paid its 70% is not stated in the documents we read, so ask Care Concept in writing before you rely on it for bills in Japan.

For nomads and long-stay visitors, timing and wording decide. Cover always starts on the 1st of a month, at most four months ahead and never before you cross the border, so it cannot be bought from home to show with a certificate-of-eligibility application. It can only help someone who already lives abroad and is already insured, for example an American nomad based in Thailand. Even then, the plan has a 12-month minimum term while the nomad stay lasts six months, and the documents we read list medically advised transport home but no repatriation-of-remains benefit. Ask Care Concept in writing for the treatment sum and the death benefit; if the answer does not match the agency’s wording, use travel or visa insurance for the application and keep long-term cover for living abroad before and after Japan. The full terms are on the plan details page.

Three general rules apply too. Prior health insurance that ended no more than 12 months before the start is a condition, and a gap brings a 31-day waiting period; does Medicare, the NHS or Japanese NHI count as that prior insurance? The documents don’t confirm this; ask Care Concept in writing. The documents promise no direct billing with Japanese hospitals, so plan to pay and claim. And home-country cover exists only for EU or Schengen home countries, which leaves Americans, Britons and Japanese citizens without it; see international health insurance with home-country cover.

Health insurance in Japan for Americans vs Britons: what is different?

Little is different once you live in Japan: Americans and Britons both join NHI or employee insurance on the same terms as other residents, and neither country has a health agreement that replaces it. The differences are at home: Medicare generally does not pay outside the United States, and GOV.UK says Japan has no reciprocal health agreement with the UK.

AmericanBriton
Resident in JapanNHI or employee insuranceNHI or employee insurance
Health agreement with JapanNone that replaces NHI for residents (posted workers: check the Certificate of Coverage)No reciprocal health agreement (GOV.UK)
Social security agreementIn force: avoids double contributions and adds up periodsIn force: avoids double contributions only
National Pension in JapanRequired from 20 to under 60 unless exemptSame
Digital nomad visaOn the agency’s country chartOn the agency’s country chart
Home-country careMedicare in the US onlyNHS treatment on visits not guaranteed after moving abroad
Care Expat World on home visitsNot covered in the USANot covered in the UK

Residents also pay into the National Pension: Yokohama City says everyone aged 20 to under 60 who lives in Japan must join, and the Japan Pension Service sets the fiscal 2026 contribution at ¥17,920 a month. Americans should settle the Medicare Part B question before moving; see health insurance for Americans living abroad. Britons should read health insurance for UK expats for the NHS side. Canadians and Australians face similar questions about home cover; see Canadians living abroad and Australians living overseas.

Price calculator: your monthly premium and worst-case year

Monthly premium–
Premiums per year–
Worst case per year (premiums + full deductible)–

Zone 1 (worldwide except the USA, China and Singapore). Age = calendar year minus year of birth. Pre-existing conditions can add a surcharge after the health interview.

What does health cover in Japan cost? 2026 comparison

A single resident aged 40–64 in Nerima City pays about ¥85,000 to ¥1,130,000 a year for NHI depending on income, Japanese private policies have no official price, and Care Expat World in Zone 1 starts from €120 a month at 45–49 and €325 at 60–64. The yen and euro figures are shown separately; convert at the day’s rate.

OptionCostWhat you still paySource
NHI, Nerima, no reported income, 40–64¥84,873 a year before reductions30% co-pay up to the monthly capNerima City formula
NHI, Nerima, ¥2 million income, aged 62¥289,130 a yearSameOur calculation
NHI, Nerima, ¥4 million income, aged 55¥549,330 a yearSameOur calculation
NHI, Nerima, highest amount¥1,130,000 a yearSameOur calculation
Japanese private medical policyNo official pricePer contract–
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 45–49€120 a monthUp to €3,600 a year, then covered costsZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 55–59€200 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Basic, €3,600 deductible, 60–64€325 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 45–49€305 a monthUp to €1,200 a year; dental and check-ups includedZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Comfort, €1,200 deductible, 60–64€655 a monthSameZone 1 registry
Care Expat World Premium, no deductible, 60–64€800 a monthNothing up front for covered costsZone 1 registry

Over a year at 60–64, Basic with the €3,600 deductible costs €3,900 in premiums and Comfort with €1,200 costs €7,860; in a heavy year add the deductible, for €7,500 and €9,060. A resident pays this on top of the NHI premium. At 45–49 the same two levels cost €1,440 and €3,660 a year. Prices for every age are on what international health insurance costs.

Checklist: health cover for your move to Japan

Worked example: an American aged 62 and a Briton aged 52

Linda, 62, from Oregon, moves to Tokyo with her Japanese husband on a spouse visa and rents in Nerima. She is a mid- to long-term resident, so she enrols in NHI at the ward office within 14 days; private cover is not an alternative. Her pension income gives her a total net income of about ¥2,000,000 for the previous year, so on the Nerima formula her yearly premium is about ¥289,130 (our calculation), paid in ten instalments; because she lived in Oregon on 1 January, the ward office first sends her a simplified income report and decides which income counts. At 62 she is past the National Pension age range. At the doctor she pays 30%, and a ¥1,000,000 hospital month would cost her at most ¥61,500 if her household’s income base stays at or below ¥2.10 million (about ¥92,940 in the middle band). She adds Care Expat World Comfort with a €1,200 deductible from the 1st of the month after she arrives: €655 a month, or €7,860 for the 12-month minimum term, for private rooms, dental care and trips across Asia and Europe. Before she relies on it in Tokyo, she asks Care Concept in writing how claims work when NHI has already paid. On visits to Oregon the plan does not cover her, because the USA is her home country, and Medicare does not pay in Japan.

Graham, 52, from Leeds, is a software contractor earning well above ¥10 million a year. He already lives in Chiang Mai with Care Expat World Basic at the €3,600 deductible, €140 a month (€1,680 a year), and wants six months in Japan on the digital nomad status. He cannot join NHI, so his visa file needs private cover of at least ¥10 million for treatment plus a death benefit. He asks Care Concept for a written statement of the treatment sum and any repatriation-of-remains benefit; the immigration officer, not the insurer, decides whether that is enough. Because the plan’s documents do not show a death benefit, he also prices a six-month travel policy that meets the agency wording, and he keeps his long-term plan for Thailand and for life after Japan. Trips to the UK stay outside the plan throughout.

What if you are 65 or older?

At 65 or older the public route stays open in Japan, because residents remain in NHI until 75 and then move to the Medical Care System for Older Senior Citizens, but the private layer narrows. From 65 the long-term care premium is billed separately from NHI, and at 70 to 74 your share at the clinic drops to 20% unless your household income is higher. For Care Expat World, the last possible start date is 1 December of the year you turn 64. If you are close to that limit, the year you apply decides what is open to you; see expat health insurance over 65, age limits on international health insurance and expat health insurance for retirees.

Health insurance in Japan vs other Asian countries

Japan stands out in Asia because public insurance is compulsory for foreign residents and cannot be replaced with a private policy; the guides below set out the rules in other Asian countries. Japan, Thailand, Vietnam and the Philippines are in Zone 1 of Care Expat World; Singapore is not.

CountryInsurance guidePublic cover for foreign residentsCare Expat World zone
JapanThis pageCompulsory (NHI or employee insurance)Zone 1
ThailandThailand: visa insurance and private plansSee the guideZone 1
VietnamVietnam guideSee the guideZone 1
PhilippinesPhilippines guideSee the guideZone 1
SingaporeSingapore guideSee the guideZone 2

What does Care Expat World cost in Japan from age 50?

In Japan (Zone 1), with a €1,200 yearly deductible, a 50–54-year-old pays from €220 a month and a 60–64-year-old from €390. The price depends only on age band, level, deductible and zone, not on the country inside the zone.

Age bandBasicComfortPremium
50–54€220€335€400
55–59€265€505€545
60–64€390€655€700
65–69 *€530€955€1,170
70+ *€985€1,295€1,570

Monthly premiums, €1,200 deductible per calendar year, before any surcharge from the health interview; insurer's premium table, all prices in our price index. * New cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; the 65–69 and 70+ bands apply to people who are already insured. A new age band applies from 1 January of the year you reach it.

Long-term health insurance for expats in Japan

The plan featured on this site. We earn a referral commission if you take it out, at no extra cost to you (how we are paid); this is information, not personal advice. Lowest prices (Basic, €3,600 deductible): €120 at 45–49, €325 at 60–64; €40 for ages 0–24.

Care Expat World Basic (hospital and doctor cover)

Lowest price, for people who mainly want protection against large medical bills.

  • Age 45-49€120–€250
  • Age 60-64€325–€460

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Hospital in a single or double room, chief physician
  • Outpatient treatment, medicines, X-ray, CT, MRI
  • Cancer treatment up to €50,000
  • Transport home when medically advised
  • 24/7 emergency line
  • No dental and no pregnancy cover
Apply for Basic: €120–€460/month
Middle level

Care Expat World Comfort (with dental and check-ups)

Adds dental, check-ups, physiotherapy, psychotherapy and pregnancy cover to Basic.

  • Age 45-49€180–€405
  • Age 60-64€495–€750

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Basic
  • Dental treatment; dentures 60% up to €8,000 a year
  • Check-ups €600 every 2 years; vaccinations €250 a year
  • Physiotherapy, osteopathy, glasses; psychotherapy 15 sessions a year
  • Pregnancy and birth after 10 months
  • Cancer treatment up to €100,000
Apply for Comfort: €180–€750/month

Care Expat World Premium (with psychotherapy)

Highest refunds, including more psychotherapy and 80% for dentures.

  • Age 45-49€195–€430
  • Age 60-64€545–€800

Per month, Zone 1. Lower price with a €3,600 deductible, higher with none.

  • Everything in Comfort
  • Dentures 80% up to €10,000 a year
  • Psychotherapy: 25 sessions a year
  • Check-ups €1,200 every 2 years
  • Alternative medicine €1,500 a year
  • Rescue costs up to €15,000
Apply for Premium: €195–€800/month

Japan sits in Zone 1: the whole world apart from the USA, China and Singapore, with stays in those three limited to emergencies on trips of up to 42 days; Americans are not covered in the USA at all, because it is their home country. The terms pay at home only when the home country belongs to the EU or Schengen area, which leaves Americans without cover in the USA and Britons without cover in the UK. For residents of Japan the plan is extra cover on top of compulsory public insurance, and nothing here claims that the Immigration Services Agency or an embassy will accept it for a visa. Already 65 or older in the year cover would start? This plan is closed to you; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit. Prices for every age are on the Care Expat World overview.

Plan your health cover around Japan

Frequently asked questions

Is health insurance mandatory for foreigners living in Japan?

Yes, for residents. Every registered resident must be in a public scheme: employee health insurance through a job, or National Health Insurance (Kokumin Kenko Hoken) at the city or ward office. GOV.UK puts it simply: with a visa valid for more than 90 days, you must enrol in one of the two.

Can I opt out of Japanese National Health Insurance if I have private insurance?

No. Nerima City states that you cannot leave NHI because you hold a life insurance plan with medical benefits or traveller’s accident insurance, and you cannot leave because the premium is high or you never see a doctor. Private cover in Japan is an addition, not a replacement.

How much is National Health Insurance in Japan per month for a foreigner?

It depends on your city and last year’s income. In Nerima City (Tokyo) for fiscal 2026, a single person aged 40–64 with no reported income starts at ¥84,873 a year before any low-income reduction, and one with ¥4,000,000 of net income pays about ¥549,330 a year (our calculation), billed in ten instalments.

How is the NHI premium calculated in my first year in Japan?

The premium uses the previous calendar year’s income. If you lived outside Japan on 1 January, Nerima City sends a simplified income report to fill in. Whether income earned abroad counts is not stated in the guide we read, so the city office decides; you may first be billed only the per-capita part.

What percentage do you pay at the doctor in Japan with NHI?

30% from school age to 69. Children before school age pay 20%, people aged 70 to 74 pay 20% (30% with higher income), and from 75 you move to the Medical Care System for Older Senior Citizens, where the share is 10%, 20% or 30% depending on income.

What is the maximum medical bill per month in Japan with health insurance?

The high-cost medical expense benefit caps it. From 1 August 2026, for an under-70 household in the middle income band (base ¥2.10–6.00 million), the monthly limit is ¥85,800 plus 1% of the bill above ¥286,000. A ¥1,000,000 hospital month therefore costs about ¥92,940 instead of ¥300,000 (our calculation). Another change is due in August 2027.

What does Japanese National Health Insurance not cover?

Nerima City lists general check-ups and the Ningen Dock, vaccinations, normal pregnancy and delivery (a ¥500,000 childbirth allowance is paid instead), cosmetic treatment and work injuries. Private-room charges and hospital meals (¥510 a meal) are also outside the high-cost cap.

How much insurance do you need for the Japan digital nomad visa?

The Immigration Services Agency asks for private medical insurance covering death, injury and illness during the stay, with at least ¥10 million for medical treatment of injury and illness. Death cover must include transport of the body or a death payment; no amount is set for it. Your spouse or child needs the same cover.

Can digital nomads join National Health Insurance in Japan?

No. The agency’s Q&A says nomads are not mid- to long-term residents, receive no residence card and are not eligible to enrol in Japan’s public medical insurance. That is why the visa requires private cover of at least ¥10 million for treatment.

What insurance does the Japan long-stay visa for sightseeing and recreation require?

A private medical insurance certificate and the policy terms, with an insurance period that matches your planned stay and cover for death, injury and illness while in Japan. The agency page we read sets no minimum sum. The status is for stays of up to one year and needs savings of more than ¥30 million.

Does Japan have a retirement visa for foreigners?

No dedicated one. The closest option for wealthy retirees is the designated activities status for long stays for sightseeing and recreation, limited to one year, with savings above ¥30 million and private medical insurance. A longer stay needs another status, such as spouse of a Japanese national, which brings NHI membership.

Can tourists use Japanese health insurance?

No. Temporary visitors cannot join National Health Insurance, so a hospital bills them in full. The Japan Tourism Agency strongly encourages private medical insurance, which can be bought before the trip or after arrival. Tokyo warns that visitors who leave medical bills unpaid may be refused entry later.

How much does a hospital stay cost in Japan without insurance?

Official tourism pages quote two insurer cases: about ¥7.5 million for a bicycle collision with a collapsed lung and broken ribs (surgery, 19 days in hospital, a doctor escort and a business-class flight home), and about ¥10 million for a heart attack with 45 days in hospital. Uninsured patients pay 100%.

Do I join NHI if I work for a Japanese company?

Not if the job puts you in employee health insurance (Kenko Hoken, often called Shakai Hoken): people in an employees’ scheme cannot join NHI. Your employer enrols you and shares the premium. If you leave the job you can keep that cover voluntarily for up to two years, applying within 20 days.

Do I keep paying NHI if I leave Japan?

Yes, unless you end your residence record. Nerima City says that if you leave without the moving-out procedure you stay an NHI member and keep paying premiums while abroad, and membership cannot be ended backwards when you return. Deregister at the city office before you fly.

Does Japanese NHI pay for treatment abroad?

Only partly. An active NHI member can claim for sudden illness or injury abroad after returning, but the refund is based on what the treatment would cost in Japan, minus your co-pay, and needs Japanese translations. Trips made for treatment are excluded. A worldwide plan fills this gap.

Do foreign residents in Japan have to pay into the National Pension as well?

Yes, if you are 20 to under 60. Yokohama City says everyone aged 20 to under 60 who lives in Japan must join, whatever their nationality, and the Japan Pension Service sets the fiscal 2026 contribution at ¥17,920 a month. Foreigners who leave may claim a lump-sum withdrawal if they meet the criteria.

Can unpaid NHI premiums affect my Japanese visa renewal?

Japanese press reports (November 2025 to June 2026) say the government plans to refuse, in principle, renewals or changes of status for foreigners who do not pay health insurance and pension premiums, starting around June 2027. We found no official text yet, but backdated premiums are already owed by law.

Will Japan accept Care Expat World for a digital nomad or long-stay visa?

The immigration officer decides, and we make no claim that it will. The insurer’s terms say nothing about visas. Check the wording the agency wants, ask Care Concept in writing about the treatment sum and any death or repatriation-of-remains benefit, and keep a policy built for visas as a fallback.

How much is international health insurance for an expat in Japan at 60?

Care Expat World, Zone 1, starts at €325 a month at 60–64 (Basic, €3,600 deductible) and costs €655 a month on Comfort with a €1,200 deductible. For residents this comes on top of the NHI premium, which stays compulsory.

Why would a Japan resident pay for international health insurance on top of NHI?

For what NHI does not do: private-room and private-hospital costs, check-ups and dental extras on higher levels, and cover on the plan’s own terms on trips across Zone 1, where NHI pays only Japanese-rate refunds. Whether the plan’s refunds are reduced by what NHI pays is not stated in the documents we read; ask Care Concept.

Are Americans in Japan covered by Care Expat World on trips to the United States?

No. The USA is your declared home country, and the binding terms give home-country cover only when that country is in the EU or the Schengen area. Medicare generally does not pay outside the United States either, so trips home need their own cover.

Is there a health agreement between the UK and Japan?

No. GOV.UK says Japan has no reciprocal health agreement with the UK, so Britons living there join Japanese public insurance like other residents. The UK–Japan social security agreement only prevents double pension contributions, according to the Japan Pension Service.

What health insurance can a foreigner over 65 get in Japan?

Residents stay in NHI until 75 and then move to the Medical Care System for Older Senior Citizens; age does not close the public route. Care Expat World is closed if you turn 65 or older in the year cover would start; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit.

Where these facts come from

Premium rates differ by municipality; Nerima City is used as one official example. Nerima’s guidebook still prints the high-cost caps in force before August 2026; we use Minato City’s newer figures. We found no official minimum insurance sum for the long-stay visa, no official statement on how income earned abroad counts in a first-year NHI premium, and no official text yet on the planned unpaid-premium rule. Check with your city office and the Immigration Services Agency before you rely on a figure.

Why do expats in Japan add Care Expat World to NHI?

What it gives you

  • A large German insurer behind it: the risk carrier is Barmenia Krankenversicherung AG, part of the BarmeniaGothaer group (premium income of about €9.27 billion expected for 2025, company announcement of 15 December 2025), supervised by Germany's financial regulator BaFin.
  • No annual maximum on total benefits, and no fixed end date or end age once you are in.
  • The insurer gives up its right to cancel in the normal way, so it cannot end your cover with ordinary notice, for example after large claims.
  • Free choice of doctor, with no network you must stay inside.
  • Pre-existing conditions are judged one by one in a video interview, with no blanket exclusion.
  • Check-ups, dental treatment and vaccinations are paid without touching your deductible (where your level covers them).
  • No fixed home address needed, and you can apply while already living abroad.
  • 14 days to change your mind after you sign.

What to know first

  • Cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64.
  • Minimum term 12 months; cover always starts on the 1st of a month.
  • The interview can lead to a surcharge, an exclusion or a refusal.
  • 10-month wait for pregnancy, dentures and orthodontics.
  • No home-country cover if your home country is outside the EU/Schengen area (for example the USA or the UK).
  • Not for people living in Germany, and no written confirmation yet that it meets any specific visa rule.

Worldwide cover on top of Japanese public insurance

Long-term international cover with no end date once you are in, private rooms and trips across Zone 1. Start cover by 1 December of the year you turn 64.

Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).