Visa Health Insurance Requirements by Country: 2026 Dataset
- Of the 30 visa routes in 16 countries in our table, 22 require health insurance or public cover, 5 set no insurance rule and 3 are unclear in the official sources (checked 27 October 2026).
- For 12 of the 22 routes that require cover, no official source we read states a minimum sum insured (2026).
- 7 of the 8 digital nomad and remote-work routes in our table require health insurance (official sources, 2026).
- Thailand’s O-A long-stay visa sets one of the few fixed minimums: 3,000,000 THB or USD 100,000 per policy year, including COVID-19, for the whole stay (Thai embassies, 2026).
- In 4 routes the cover must come from a local insurer or the public system, 2 of them in Spain, where the insurer must be authorised in Spain (official sources, 2026).
Sources: embassy, consulate and immigration pages from our country fact sheets, checked on 27 October 2026. Counts calculated by us from the table on this page.
“Visa Health Insurance Requirements by Country: 2026 Dataset”, Expat Health Guide, /visa-health-insurance-requirements-by-country/, official embassy, consulate and immigration sources from our country fact sheets, checked on 27 October 2026, page updated 2026-10-28.
When you reuse a route’s rule, also name the official source shown for it on this page. Dataset and counts compiled by Expat Health Guide (ChiliMarketing Ltd.).
Which visas require health insurance? Filter the 2026 dataset
22 of the 30 routes below require health insurance or public cover, 5 set no rule and 3 are unclear. Each row is one visa or permit route; choose what matters to you and the table hides the rows that do not match. "NOT FOUND" means no official source behind our country fact sheets states it.
| Country / visa | Insurance required? | Minimum sum | Required wording | Local insurer? | Stage | Can long-term international cover serve? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thailand O-A long-stay visa (first application) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | 3,000,000 THB or USD 100,000 per policy year, including COVID-19, for the whole stay | A foreign policy counts only with the Thai Foreign Insurance Certificate, completed, signed by two directors and an authorised signatory, and stamped by the insurer; the cover area must include Thailand | No: Thai or foreign; foreign only with the certificate | Visa application; your permitted stay ends when the policy ends (max. 1 year) | Only if the insurer signs the certificate. Not confirmed for Care Expat World. |
| Thailand O-A renewal inside Thailand · Retirement / passive income | Yes | Official sources differ: 40,000 THB outpatient / 400,000 THB inpatient (2019 police order) or 3,000,000 THB (later plan, in force not confirmed) | The 2019 order asks for a policy from a Thai company bought through the Thai General Insurance Association long-stay portal | Unclear: Thai company under the 2019 order | Renewal at a Thai immigration office | Unclear. Ask your immigration office before you renew. |
| Thailand Non-O + one-year retirement extension · Retirement / passive income | No | None by law | No legal insurance rule; some offices have reportedly asked for cover anyway | Not applicable | Extension of stay inside Thailand | Yes, as your own protection; there is no visa wording to meet. |
| Thailand O-X 10-year visa · Retirement / passive income | Yes | 40,000 THB outpatient and 400,000 THB inpatient, for the whole visa period | Washington also lists COVID-19 cover of 3,000,000 THB / USD 100,000; each family member needs their own certificate; if cover lapses the visa can be withdrawn | Yes: Thai insurer (Washington, London, TGIA); the Rome embassy accepts foreign cover with the certificate | Visa application and the whole visa period | Not as the visa policy; only as extra cover next to the Thai policy. |
| Thailand LTR Wealthy Pensioner · Retirement / passive income | Yes | USD 50,000 for treatment in Thailand with at least 10 months left; or Thai social security; or a USD 100,000 deposit held 12 months | Hospitalisation and medical treatment in Thailand; life-only and travel insurance are not accepted | No restriction stated | Application (Board of Investment endorsement) | Possible if the papers show USD 50,000 for Thailand; the policy must already run, with 10+ months left, when you file. |
| Thailand LTR Work-from-Thailand Professional · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | USD 50,000 health insurance; or Thai social security; or a USD 100,000 deposit held 12 months | Same three alternatives as the other LTR categories | No restriction stated | Application (Board of Investment endorsement) | Possible if the policy shows at least USD 50,000 and is in force when you file. |
| Thailand Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) · Digital nomad / remote work | Unclear | NOT FOUND | No insurance rule appears in the embassy pages behind our Thailand relocation data | NOT FOUND | – | No rule found to check against; ask the embassy. |
| Philippines SRRV Classic · Retirement / passive income | No | None | Only the Philippine Retirement Authority medical certificate | Not applicable | – | Yes, as your own cover. |
| Panama Pensionado · Retirement / passive income | No | None | Only a health certificate (National Migration Service list, September 2025) | Not applicable | – | Yes, as your own cover. |
| Costa Rica Pensionado (temporary residence) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | No fixed sum: public CCSS (CAJA) premiums are based on income | Residents must enrol in the CCSS and show continuous CCSS cover from the date residence was granted until renewal (Migration Law, Art. 80); no private-policy rule confirmed | Yes: the public CCSS | Residence and every renewal | Cannot replace the CCSS; only as private cover on top. |
| Costa Rica Digital nomad stay (Law 10008) · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | Set by the migration authority (DGME); USD 50,000 for the whole stay is commonly reported, not in the law text | A medical-services policy covering you, and any family members included, for the whole stay; travel insurance not accepted (commonly reported) | Not stated in the law text | Application for the stay (1 year + 1) | Possible in principle; it must cover the whole stay, so check that its start date matches your arrival. |
| Mexico Temporary or permanent resident (retiree) · Retirement / passive income | No | None listed | Not on the Washington, Houston, New York, San Diego or New Brunswick consulate sheets | Not applicable | – | Yes, as your own cover. |
| Colombia M visa – pensionado · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND (no amount in Article 77 of Resolution 5477/2022) | Health cover in Colombia, or a policy covering Colombian territory against accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalisation, death and repatriation, for the planned stay | NOT FOUND (not stated) | Visa application; the visa does not let you join Colombian social security (treaties aside) | Possible if the wording covers all seven risks; Care Expat World Basic has no pregnancy cover. Start-date rule applies. |
| Colombia V visa – digital nomad (Art. 46) · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | NOT FOUND | Same seven-risk wording as the M pensionado visa | NOT FOUND (not stated) | Visa application | As for the M pensionado: all seven risks, and the start-date rule. |
| Ecuador Temporary residence – jubilado · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND | National or foreign health insurance valid for the same period as the visa; a foreign policy must state that it covers Ecuador | No: foreign policies accepted | Visa application | Possible if the policy states cover in Ecuador for the whole visa period. Start-date rule applies. |
| Uruguay Permanent residence (residencia legal permanente) · Retirement / passive income | No | None | A carné de salud (health certificate) and a vaccination certificate; not insurance | Not applicable | – | Yes, as your own cover. |
| Indonesia E33E retirement visa (5 years) · Retirement / passive income | Unclear | NOT FOUND on the official page | Not on the immigration office’s E33E page; agency and insurer sites say insurance is mandatory | NOT FOUND | – | Unclear; get written confirmation of what is needed before you buy. |
| Malaysia MM2H (Silver, Gold, Platinum) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND for the national programme | Guide Malaysia My Second Home (tourism ministry, uploaded December 2025): health insurance within 90 days of approval for applicants aged 60 and below, "from any Malaysian or foreign insurance provider with worldwide coverage"; also a renewal document | No: Malaysian or foreign insurer, with worldwide coverage | After approval (aged 60 and below) and at renewal | Allowed in principle if it has worldwide coverage, a term the guide does not define; get the operator’s written confirmation for the exact policy. |
| Spain Non-lucrative residence visa · Retirement / passive income | Yes | No sum: unlimited cover of 100% of medical, hospital and out-of-hospital costs | Insurer authorised to operate in Spain; no copayment, deductible, waiting period or coverage limit; all risks of the Spanish public system; no travel insurance; London accepts a registered S1 | Yes: insurer authorised in Spain | Visa application and every renewal (cover must be kept) | A plan with a deductible or benefit caps does not match this wording. |
| Spain Telework (digital nomad) visa · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | No sum: no deficiencies, copayments or coverage limits | Insurer authorised in Spain (on the DGSFP register), covering all risks of the public system for the whole authorisation; no travel insurance; not needed if you are in Spanish Social Security (New York) | Yes: insurer authorised in Spain | Visa application and the residence authorisation | As for the non-lucrative visa: caps and deductibles do not match. |
| Portugal D7 visa (pensions, passive income) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND (no minimum sum stated) | Visa: travel insurance covering medical expenses incl. urgent care and repatriation; UK checklist: valid 6 months from the visa request (an older guide says 4); UK state pensioners may show a stamped S1. Permit: health insurance or proof of SNS cover | No restriction to Portuguese insurers stated | Visa application, then the AIMA residence permit | Not for the visa application (it must run from the request date); possible at the permit stage, acceptance not confirmed. |
| Portugal D8 visa (remote work) · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | NOT FOUND | The foreign ministry’s residency-visa list (which also covers the D7) asks for travel insurance with urgent care and repatriation; no D8-specific rule found | No restriction stated | Visa application, then the residence permit | As for the D7: travel cover for the application, long-term cover once you are there. |
| France Long-stay visitor visa (VLS-TS) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND for long stays (the €30,000 minimum applies to short-stay visas) | Health insurance covering the stay; UK applicants: private insurance for the full visa (up to 1 year), travel insurance not accepted, S1 accepted (2021 notice) | No restriction stated | Visa application and each visitor-card renewal | Unclear: our sources do not say whether the policy must run on the filing date. Long-term cover starts only on a 1st of a month after you cross the border, and UK applicants cannot use travel insurance, so ask the consulate before you buy. |
| Greece Financially independent person (FIP) · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND | Visa: travel insurance at least as long as the visa, covering medical repatriation, emergency care and hospitalisation. Permit: a policy from a private insurance company (old-law page); family members may show a public-insurer printout | Not restricted in any source read | Visa (travel insurance), then the residence permit (private policy) | Not as the visa-stage travel insurance; possible at the permit stage, acceptance not confirmed. |
| Greece Digital nomad visa · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | NOT FOUND | All Greek national (Type D) visas: travel insurance at least as long as the visa; permit-stage rule NOT FOUND | Not restricted in any source read | Visa application | Not as the visa-stage travel insurance. |
| Italy Elective residence · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND | Visa: not on the US or UK consulate checklists. Permit: a health insurance policy for the period of stay, or a receipt for voluntary enrolment in the national health service (SSN) | No restriction stated | Residence permit at the Questura, within 8 working days of arrival | Possible at the permit stage if it covers the period of stay; acceptance not confirmed. |
| Italy Digital nomad / remote worker visa · Digital nomad / remote work | Yes | At least €30,000 (or USD 50,000) | An insurance card alone is not sufficient; the 2024 decree, as reported by Italian legal press, asks for medical care and hospitalisation valid in all of Italy for the whole stay | No restriction stated | Visa application | Possible in principle; start-date rule: the visa wants cover for the stay, and cover starts only after you cross the border. |
| Cyprus Visitor residence permit ("pink slip") · Retirement / passive income | Yes | NOT FOUND | A certificate of health insurance covering inpatient and outpatient care and transportation of a body ("Plan A") | Not stated | Permit application in Cyprus; first permit 1 year, renewable | Check the certificate names all three items; whether an S1 counts is NOT FOUND. |
| Cyprus Category F immigration permit · Retirement / passive income | Unclear | NOT FOUND | Not on the current official document list; some law firms still list a health insurance certificate | NOT FOUND | Permit application | Ask the Migration Department. |
| Cyprus Investment permanent residence (Reg. 6(2)) · Investment | Yes | NOT FOUND | Health insurance certificate for inpatient and outpatient care for you and dependants; later only if you no longer benefit from GESY | Not stated | Application, then ongoing | Possible in principle if it covers inpatient and outpatient care. |
A first orientation, not legal advice. Consulates and immigration offices decide and can change their lists without notice. The last column never means "accepted": it only says whether the rule's wording and timing leave room for a long-term international policy.
Key facts: visa health insurance rules at a glance
| Question | Answer from the dataset |
|---|---|
| Routes and countries compared | 30 routes in 16 countries (8 digital nomad or remote-work routes) |
| Insurance or public cover required | 22 routes |
| No insurance rule | Philippines SRRV, Panama Pensionado, Uruguay permanent residence, Mexico residence, Thailand Non-O extension |
| Unclear | Thailand DTV, Indonesia E33E, Cyprus Category F |
| Local insurer or public system required | 4 routes: Spain (two visas), Thailand O-X, Costa Rica Pensionado (CCSS) |
| Highest stated minimum | Thailand O-A: 3,000,000 THB or USD 100,000 per policy year |
| Strictest wording | Spain: insurer authorised in Spain, no copayment, deductible, waiting period or coverage limit |
| Most detailed list of risks | Colombia: accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalisation, death, repatriation |
| Data checked | 27 October 2026 (dataset compiled 28 October 2026) |
What is the difference between visa-stage and permit-stage insurance?
Visa-stage insurance is what the consulate checks before you travel, and it is often short-term travel cover; permit-stage insurance is what the immigration office checks once you live there, and it is usually health insurance for the whole residence period. In our dataset the two steps often ask for different things, so one policy does not automatically do both jobs.
Portugal is the clearest case. The foreign ministry asks D7 applicants for travel insurance covering medical expenses, urgent care and repatriation, and the UK checklist wants it valid for 6 months from the date of the visa request. Once you are in Portugal, AIMA asks for health insurance or proof that the national health service (SNS) covers you. Greece works the same way: travel insurance at least as long as the national visa, then a private insurance policy for the residence permit. Italy’s elective residence visa checklists in the US and UK do not mention insurance at all, but the Questura asks for a health policy, or voluntary enrolment in the SSN, when you apply for the permit within 8 working days of arrival.
Renewals can add a third rule. Thailand’s O-A accepts a foreign policy with the signed certificate for the first application, but for renewals inside Thailand a 2019 police order asks for a Thai policy of 40,000 THB outpatient and 400,000 THB inpatient, while a later plan for 3,000,000 THB from any insurer has not been confirmed as in force. Costa Rica checks continuous CCSS cover at every renewal, and Spain asks you to have kept your insurance when you renew.
| Country / route | Visa stage (consulate) | Permit or renewal stage (in the country) |
|---|---|---|
| Portugal D7 | Travel insurance with urgent care and repatriation; UK: valid 6 months from the request (older guide: 4); S1 accepted | Health insurance or proof of SNS cover (AIMA) |
| Greece FIP | Travel insurance at least as long as the visa | Private insurance policy (old-law permit page) |
| Italy elective residence | Not on the US/UK checklists | Health policy for the stay, or voluntary SSN enrolment |
| Thailand O-A | 3,000,000 THB / USD 100,000, foreign policy with the signed certificate | Renewal: official sources differ (Thai 40,000/400,000 THB vs 3,000,000 THB any insurer) |
| Costa Rica Pensionado | No private-policy rule confirmed | Continuous CCSS cover until each renewal |
| Spain non-lucrative | Insurer authorised in Spain, no copayment or limits | Renewal: insurance kept and continued |
| Cyprus visitor permit | Applied for inside Cyprus | "Plan A" certificate: inpatient, outpatient, transport of a body |
Which visas name a minimum sum insured?
Only a handful do: Thailand’s O-A and LTR, Thailand’s O-X (as outpatient and inpatient minimums) and Italy’s digital nomad visa state a figure, while Spain asks for unlimited cover instead of a number. Everywhere else in our dataset the minimum is NOT FOUND, which is not the same as "any amount will do": consulates can still judge a thin policy as insufficient.
| Route | Stated minimum | Extra conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Thailand O-A | 3,000,000 THB or USD 100,000 per policy year | Includes COVID-19; whole stay; foreign insurer signs the certificate |
| Thailand O-X | 40,000 THB outpatient + 400,000 THB inpatient | Thai insurer; whole visa period |
| Thailand LTR (both categories) | USD 50,000 | Wealthy Pensioner: at least 10 months left; alternatives: Thai social security or a USD 100,000 deposit |
| Italy digital nomad | €30,000 (or USD 50,000) | Insurance card alone not sufficient |
| Costa Rica digital nomad | Set by DGME; USD 50,000 commonly reported | Whole stay; family members covered too |
| Spain (both visas) | No figure: unlimited, 100% of costs | No copayment, deductible, waiting period or limit |
| France long stay | NOT FOUND (€30,000 applies to short stays only) | UK: private insurance, not travel insurance |
| Colombia, Ecuador, Portugal, Greece, Italy (residence), Cyprus, Malaysia | NOT FOUND | Wording rules apply instead (see the big table) |
Which visas require a local insurer or public cover?
Four routes in our dataset do: Spain’s non-lucrative and telework visas, Thailand’s O-X and Costa Rica’s Pensionado residence. For these, a foreign long-term policy can be useful extra protection but cannot be the policy that satisfies the rule.
| Route | What the rule says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Spain non-lucrative and telework visa | Insurer authorised to operate in Spain (DGSFP register for the telework visa) | Local required |
| Thailand O-X | Thai insurer, 40,000/400,000 THB, whole visa period | Local required (Washington, London); Rome differs |
| Costa Rica Pensionado | Enrolment in the public CCSS, continuous until renewal | Public system required |
| Thailand O-A renewal | 2019 order: Thai company via the TGIA portal | Unclear (later plan not confirmed) |
| Malaysia MM2H | Ministry guide (December 2025): Malaysian or foreign insurer with worldwide coverage | Not required |
| Thailand O-A (first), LTR; Ecuador; Portugal; Greece; France; Italy | Foreign policies accepted or no restriction stated | Not required |
If you are moving to Spain, read our guide to healthcare in Spain for expats before you choose a policy, because the visa wording narrows the choice to insurers authorised there.
Is travel insurance enough for a visa application?
Sometimes for the first step, never for life abroad: Portugal (D7 and D8) and Greece accept travel insurance for the visa, while Spain, France (for UK applicants) and Thailand’s LTR reject it. GOV.UK warns that travel insurance is not intended to cover your healthcare costs if you live abroad permanently.
Travel insurance named for the visa
- Portugal D7 and D8: medical expenses, urgent care, repatriation
- Greece (all national visas): at least as long as the visa
Travel insurance not accepted
- Spain: non-lucrative and telework visas
- France: long-stay visitor visa for UK applicants (2021 notice)
- Thailand LTR: travel and life-only policies excluded
- Costa Rica nomad stay: commonly reported, not in the law text
Where can a UK S1 replace private insurance?
In three EU routes in our dataset: Portugal’s D7, France’s long-stay visitor visa and Spain’s non-lucrative visa accept an S1 from a UK State Pension recipient. The S1 only exists once your State Pension is being paid, so Britons who move before State Pension age (66, rising to 67 between 2026 and 2028) need private cover in the meantime; our S1 form guide explains the steps.
| Route | S1 rule |
|---|---|
| Portugal D7 | UK checklist: a stamped S1 instead of travel insurance |
| France VLS-TS | S1 accepted as medical cover (2021 notice) |
| Spain non-lucrative | London consulate: receipt of S1 registration accepted |
| Cyprus visitor permit | Whether an S1 satisfies "Plan A": NOT FOUND |
| Non-EU countries in the table | No S1 arrangement |
Digital nomad visas: what insurance do they ask for?
Almost all remote-work routes in our dataset require cover, and they are stricter on wording than on amounts. Spain’s telework visa copies the non-lucrative rule (insurer authorised in Spain, no copayment or limits) unless you are in Spanish Social Security. Italy names €30,000 and rejects an insurance card on its own. Costa Rica’s Law 10008 wants a medical policy for the whole stay, with the amount set by the migration authority. Colombia applies its seven-risk wording to the digital nomad V visa too. Portugal’s D8 and Greece’s nomad visa ask for travel insurance at the visa stage. Thailand’s LTR Work-from-Thailand route accepts USD 50,000 of health insurance, Thai social security or a USD 100,000 deposit; for the DTV we found no insurance rule. Our digital nomad visas by country comparison covers income, fees and stay length.
How do you check a policy against a visa rule?
Put the visa rule and the policy certificate side by side and tick off each item below before you pay; if one line does not match, ask the insurer for a written confirmation or choose another route.
Where does Care Expat World fit, and where does it not?
Care Expat World is long-term international health insurance for people whose cover starts by 1 December of the year they turn 64; it can be your everyday cover in every country in this table, but we do not claim that any consulate accepts it for a visa. Its contract terms decide where it can and cannot help with a visa rule.
| Plan rule (Care Concept terms) | What it means for visas |
|---|---|
| Starts on the 1st of a month, at most 4 months ahead, never before you cross the border | It cannot be the policy at an application that must be valid from the request date or before arrival (e.g. the Portugal D7 UK checklist, Greek visa-stage travel insurance). Use travel or visa insurance for the application, then start long-term cover on arrival. |
| Zone 1 = worldwide except the USA, China and Singapore | All 16 countries in our table are in Zone 1. Zone 1 does not cover the USA; zones with China, Singapore or the USA cost more: at 35–39, Basic with a €3,600 deductible is €110 a month in Zone 2 and €165 in Zone 3 (see the price index). |
| Home-country cover only for EU or Schengen home countries | US and UK citizens are not covered on visits home, in any zone. Plan separate cover for trips to the USA or the UK. |
| Deductibles €0, €1,200 or €3,600; cancer treatment capped in Basic (€50,000) and Comfort (€100,000) | Spain’s "no deductible, no coverage limit" wording does not match; choose an insurer authorised in Spain there. |
| Basic has no pregnancy cover | Colombia’s list includes maternity; Comfort and Premium include pregnancy after a 10-month waiting period. |
| No annual overall limit | Sum-based rules such as Thailand’s USD 100,000 or Italy’s €30,000 are about the amount; ask for a certificate showing the cover the rule names. |
| Foreign insurer (Barmenia, arranged by Care Concept) | Thai O-A: the insurer must sign the Foreign Insurance Certificate, which is not confirmed for this plan; Thai O-X and Costa Rica CCSS: cannot satisfy the rule. |
Where it does fit well is the long stretch after the visa: the years in which your real hospital and doctor bills arrive, wherever you settle. Our Care Expat World plan review lists every benefit, and international health insurance cost shows prices by age. If you have a health condition, read international health insurance with pre-existing conditions before you apply.
Worked example: an American in Colombia and a Briton in Portugal
Linda, 57, from Arizona, plans to retire to Medellín on the Colombian M pensionado visa. Article 77 asks for a policy covering Colombia against accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalisation, death and repatriation for her planned stay, and Medicare generally does not pay for care outside the United States. Because the list names maternity, she compares Comfort (pregnancy included after 10 months) rather than Basic. Comfort with a €1,200 deductible costs €505/month at 55–59. Our sources do not say whether the policy must already run on the day she files, so before applying she asks the consulate; if it must, she uses a short policy for the application and starts long-term cover on the 1st of the month after she arrives.
Graham, 61, from Leeds, applies for Portugal’s D7. He has no UK State Pension yet, so no S1. The UK checklist wants travel insurance valid 6 months from his visa request, which a plan that starts only after he crosses the border cannot provide, so he buys travel insurance for the application. After arriving he starts long-term cover for the AIMA permit stage and daily life: Basic with a €3,600 deductible is €325/month at 60–64, Comfort with the same deductible €495/month.
| Step | Linda (US, Colombia M pensionado) | Graham (UK, Portugal D7) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa insurance rule | Seven risks, cover in Colombia, planned stay; no minimum sum | Travel insurance, urgent care + repatriation, 6 months from the request |
| Policy for the application | Ask whether it must run on the filing date | Travel insurance |
| Permit stage | No separate rule in our sources | Health insurance or SNS cover |
| Long-term cover example (Zone 1) | Comfort, €1,200 deductible: €505/month | Basic, €3,600 deductible: €325/month |
| Home visits | Not covered in the USA | Not covered in the UK |
Country-by-country summaries
Short summaries of each country’s rule. The visa pages hold the full requirements, documents and fees.
Thailand
Five routes, five different rules. The O-A needs 3,000,000 THB or USD 100,000 a year with the signed Foreign Insurance Certificate for foreign policies; renewals inside Thailand follow rules that official sources state differently. The O-X needs a Thai insurer; the LTR accepts USD 50,000, Thai social security or a USD 100,000 deposit; the Non-O extension has no legal insurance rule. See the Thailand retirement visa and expat health insurance in Thailand.
Philippines and Panama
Neither the SRRV Classic nor the Pensionado asks for insurance: a medical or health certificate is enough. Details on the Philippines retirement visa and Panama Pensionado visa pages.
Costa Rica
Residents must join the public CCSS and keep it up until each renewal; digital nomads instead show a private medical policy for the whole stay. See the Costa Rica retirement visa.
Mexico
None of the consulate sheets we read list insurance for temporary or permanent residence. See the Mexico retirement visa.
Colombia
The M pensionado and the digital nomad V visa share one wording: cover in Colombia for seven named risks for the planned stay, no minimum sum stated, and the M visa does not let you join Colombian social security. See the Colombia retirement visa.
Ecuador
The jubilado visa takes national or foreign insurance valid for the visa period, if a foreign policy states cover in Ecuador. See retiring in Ecuador.
Uruguay
Permanent residence needs a health certificate and vaccination certificate, not insurance. See the Uruguay retirement visa.
Indonesia and Malaysia
Indonesia’s official E33E page does not mention insurance, although agencies say it is mandatory. Malaysia’s MM2H guide asks applicants aged 60 and below for a policy within 90 days of approval, from a Malaysian or foreign insurer with worldwide coverage, and lists insurance again at renewal. See the Indonesia retirement visa and Malaysia MM2H pages.
Spain
The strictest rule in the table, for retirees and remote workers alike: an insurer authorised in Spain, no copayment, deductible, waiting period or limit. See the Spain non-lucrative visa.
Portugal
Travel insurance for the D7 or D8 visa (UK pensioners may use an S1), then health insurance or SNS cover for the AIMA permit. See the Portugal D7 visa and expat health insurance in Portugal.
France
Health insurance covering the stay; UK applicants need private insurance, not travel insurance, unless they have an S1. See the France long-stay visitor visa.
Greece
Travel insurance at least as long as the visa, then a private policy for the residence permit. See the Greece retirement visa.
Italy
No insurance on the elective residence visa checklists, but a health policy or voluntary SSN enrolment for the permit; the nomad visa names €30,000. See the Italy elective residence visa.
Cyprus
The visitor permit asks for a "Plan A" certificate (inpatient, outpatient, transport of a body); Category F’s official list names no insurance; the investment route asks for inpatient and outpatient cover. See the Cyprus retirement visa.
For incomes, ages and permits side by side, see retirement visas by country; for budgets, the cheapest countries to retire; and for how to pick cover in general, our expat health insurance guide. Whether you can join the local public system is covered in healthcare systems by country.
How we built this dataset (methodology and data date)
We built one dataset from our own country fact sheets only, without new research, so every row matches the visa page it links to. Each fact sheet records the official source, the date read and a confidence label; the sources behind this table were read on 27 October 2026 and the dataset was compiled on 28 October 2026.
| Label or field | How we use it |
|---|---|
| Insurance required: Yes | An official source names an insurance or public-cover condition for that route |
| Insurance required: No | The official list names none (absence of a rule) |
| Insurance required: Unclear | Not on the official list we read, or official and secondary sources conflict |
| Local insurer | Yes only if the rule names a national insurer, an insurer authorised in the country or the public system |
| NOT FOUND | No official source we could read states it; never filled with a guess |
| Commonly reported | From law firms, agencies or press; shown as such, never as an official rule |
| Via search index | The official page blocked our reader; the text comes from the search-engine copy of that official page |
| Long-term cover column | Wording and timing only; never a statement that a consulate accepts a product |
Open conflicts we carry: Thailand’s O-A renewal rule; Thailand’s O-X insurer (Rome differs); Portugal’s UK validity (6 vs 4 months); Cyprus Category F; what “worldwide coverage” means for Malaysia’s MM2H; Costa Rica’s nomad minimum. Vietnam is not in the table because it has no retirement visa in the law we checked.
Frequently asked questions
Which countries require health insurance for a long-stay visa?
In our 2026 dataset, 22 of 30 routes ask for insurance or public cover: Thailand’s O-A, O-X and LTR, Costa Rica (public CCSS, and a private policy for nomads), Colombia, Ecuador, Malaysia’s MM2H, Spain, Portugal, France, Greece, Italy (at the permit stage for elective residence) and Cyprus. The Philippines, Panama, Uruguay, Mexico’s consulate sheets and Thailand’s Non-O extension set no rule.
Which residence visas need no health insurance at all?
The Philippine SRRV (medical certificate only), Panama’s Pensionado (health certificate only), Uruguay’s permanent residence (health and vaccination certificates), Mexico’s temporary and permanent residence (none on the consulate sheets we read) and Thailand’s Non-O retirement extension (none by law). No rule is not the same as no need: hospital bills there are paid by you or your insurer.
Which visas require a local health insurer?
Spain (an insurer authorised to operate in Spain, for both the non-lucrative and the telework visa), Thailand’s O-X (a Thai insurer, per the Washington and London embassies) and Costa Rica (public CCSS enrolment for residents). Thailand’s O-A renewal is unclear: a 2019 order asks for a Thai company. Malaysia’s MM2H does not: its official guide accepts Malaysian or foreign insurers with worldwide coverage.
Does a visa give you travel insurance?
No. Where a visa has an insurance rule, you buy the cover yourself and show proof of it, and some routes set no rule at all, such as the Philippines, Panama and Uruguay. Portugal (D7 and D8) and Greece ask for travel insurance at the visa stage; Spain, France (UK applicants) and Thailand’s LTR do not accept it.
Is travel insurance accepted for a residence visa application?
For some first steps: Portugal (D7 and D8) and Greece ask for travel insurance at the visa stage. Spain, France (UK applicants) and Thailand’s LTR do not accept travel insurance, and Costa Rica’s nomad stay reportedly does not either. Even where it works for the visa, GOV.UK notes that travel insurance is not meant to pay for healthcare if you live abroad permanently.
What is the difference between visa insurance and residence permit insurance?
Visa insurance is checked by the consulate before you travel and often only has to cover the visa period (Portugal, Greece: travel insurance). Permit insurance is checked by the immigration office in the country, usually as health insurance for the whole residence period (Portugal AIMA, Greek permit, Italian Questura). Renewals can add their own rule, as in Thailand.
Can I start international health insurance after I arrive and still get my visa?
Only if the visa does not need the policy before you travel. Care Expat World starts on a 1st of the month you choose, at most four months ahead and never before you cross the border, so it cannot be the insurance at an application that must be valid from the request date, such as the Portugal D7 UK checklist. Use travel or visa insurance for the application, then start long-term cover on arrival.
Can Care Expat World be shown as proof of insurance for a residence visa?
We do not claim it is accepted for any country. It is long-term international cover (Zone 1 covers every country in this table), but acceptance depends on the visa wording and the consulate. Spain’s no-deductible, no-limit wording does not match; Thailand’s O-A needs an insurer-signed certificate that is not confirmed for this plan. Check each rule with our checklist before you buy.
Which digital nomad visas require health insurance?
All 8 remote-work routes in our dataset except Thailand’s DTV, where we found no rule: Spain’s telework visa (insurer authorised in Spain), Italy (at least €30,000), Costa Rica (a medical policy for the whole stay), Colombia (the seven-risk wording), Portugal’s D8 and Greece (travel insurance at the visa stage) and Thailand’s LTR Work-from-Thailand route (USD 50,000).
How much health insurance does the Italian digital nomad visa require?
The Italian consulate in New York states that cover must not be less than €30,000 (or USD 50,000), and that an insurance card alone is not sufficient. Italian legal press reports that the 2024 decree asks for medical care and hospitalisation valid throughout Italy for the whole stay.
What health insurance does Costa Rica’s digital nomad visa need?
Law 10008 asks for a medical-services policy covering you, and any family members you include, for the whole stay, and lets the migration authority (DGME) set the minimum. USD 50,000 is commonly reported, along with a ban on travel insurance, but neither appears in the law text we read.
Do I need health insurance for Portugal’s D8 remote work visa?
Yes. Portugal’s foreign ministry lists travel insurance with medical expenses, urgent care and repatriation for residency visas, the same line as for the D7; we found no D8-specific rule and no minimum sum. For the residence permit, AIMA asks for health insurance or proof of SNS cover.
Do Greek long-stay visas need travel insurance or private health insurance?
Both, at different stages. The Greek foreign ministry asks for travel insurance at least as long as the national visa, covering repatriation, emergency care and hospitalisation. For the residence permit, the old-law permit page asks the main applicant for a private insurance policy. No minimum sum is stated.
What does "no copayment" mean for Spanish visa health insurance?
That the policy must pay the full cost of care with no share for you: the Boston, New York and Los Angeles consulates exclude copayments, deductibles, waiting periods and coverage limits, and ask for 100% of medical, hospital and out-of-hospital costs. A plan with a deductible or capped benefits does not meet that wording.
Why does a retirement visa insurance rule list maternity?
Colombia’s rule is written for all M and some V visas, not only retirees: Article 77 of Resolution 5477/2022 lists accident, illness, maternity, disability, hospitalisation, death and repatriation. A policy without pregnancy cover may not match it word for word; Care Expat World Basic has none, Comfort and Premium include it after 10 months.
What does "Plan A" health insurance mean for a Cyprus visitor permit?
It is the Cyprus migration department’s wording for a certificate of health insurance covering inpatient care, outpatient care and the transport of a body. The department names all three items; we found no official statement on whether a UK S1 can replace it.
Do MM2H applicants aged 60 or under need health insurance?
Yes. The tourism ministry’s Guide Malaysia My Second Home (December 2025) lists health insurance among the documents due within 90 days of approval, “applicable for applicants aged 60 and below”, from “any Malaysian or foreign insurance provider with worldwide coverage”. Older applicants show it at renewal. The guide sets no minimum sum and does not define worldwide coverage.
Does Medicare count as health insurance for a visa abroad?
Not in any visa rule in our dataset, and Medicare generally does not pay for care outside the United States. Americans moving abroad before 65 need cover that works in the destination country, and a visa may set its own wording on top.
Which visas accept a UK S1 form instead of health insurance?
Portugal’s D7 (the UK checklist accepts a stamped S1 instead of travel insurance), France’s long-stay visitor visa (2021 notice) and Spain’s non-lucrative visa (London accepts a registered S1). You can only get an S1 once your UK State Pension is paid, so it does not help Britons who move before State Pension age.
Does visa health insurance have to cover the whole visa period?
Often, yes: Thailand’s O-A (your stay ends when the policy ends), the O-X (lapse can end the visa), Colombia and Costa Rica’s nomad stay (the planned stay), Ecuador (the same period as the visa) and Greece (at least the visa length). Thailand’s LTR asks for at least 10 months left when you apply.
What if insurers refuse me for a visa that requires cover?
Thailand’s O-A has a written fallback: a refusal letter plus proof of property, deposits or other cover of at least 3,000,000 THB. Thailand’s LTR also accepts a USD 100,000 deposit instead of insurance. For other visas our sources name no fallback, so apply for long-term cover early, while you are under 65.
Does Costa Rica accept private insurance instead of the CCSS for residency?
Not in the rules we used: residents must enrol in the public CCSS, and the migration law asks for continuous CCSS cover from the date residence was granted until renewal. We found no rule that a private policy replaces it, so private cover is extra.
How current is this visa health insurance dataset?
Every row comes from our country fact sheets, whose sources were read on 27 October 2026; the dataset was compiled on 28 October 2026. Where an official page was blocked or silent, the table says NOT FOUND or "commonly reported" instead of filling the gap.
Can I get long-term international cover for a visa after 65?
Not with Care Expat World: you must cover must start by 1 December of the year you turn 64; at 60–64 it starts from €325 a month in Zone 1. Already 65 or older in the year cover would start? This plan is closed to you; we are preparing a comparison of plans without an entry-age limit.
Where these facts come from
- Royal Thai Embassies Washington (O-A, O-X, DTV pages, updated Sep 2026) and London (retirement visas, 4 Apr 2024); Thai Ministry of Public Health O-A insurance guideline; Thai General Insurance Association long-stay portal; Board of Investment LTR document list (6 Nov 2025) and LTR site
- Philippine Retirement Authority: SRRV requirements and Expanded SRRV Program (Aug 2025)
- Panama National Migration Service: Pensionado requirements (Sep 2025)
- Costa Rica: Migration Law 8764 (Arts. 78–80); Law 10008 on remote workers; GOV.UK Living in Costa Rica
- Mexican consulates in Washington, Houston, New York, San Diego and New Brunswick: residence document sheets
- Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Resolution 5477 of 2022 (Arts. 46 and 77)
- Ecuador Ministry of Foreign Affairs: jubilado temporary residence procedure (updated 13 Aug 2024)
- Uruguay National Migration Directorate: permanent residence requirements (Oct 2020)
- Indonesian Directorate General of Immigration: E33E visa page (read Oct 2026)
- Malaysia: MM2H guidelines (updated 10 Feb 2026); Ministry of Tourism insurer list and Guide Malaysia My Second Home (both December 2025)
- Spanish consulates in Boston, New York, Los Angeles, Washington and London: non-lucrative and telework visa pages (2026)
- Portugal Ministry of Foreign Affairs residency-visa documentation; VFS Global UK D7 checklist; AIMA residence permit requirements
- France: service-public.fr visitor card (F302, 1 Jun 2026); France-Visas FAQ; TLScontact UK notice on long-stay visitor insurance (14 May 2021)
- Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs: national D visa supporting documents (Aug 2025); Attica decentralised administration permit pages (Nov 2023)
- Italian consulates in Houston, Washington, New York, Los Angeles and London: elective residence checklists; Consulate General in New York: digital nomad visa; Polizia di Stato permit documents (May 2024)
- Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Migration: visitor permit supporting documents (Dec 2025), Category F list (Dec 2025), investment permit criteria (May 2023)
- GOV.UK: moving or retiring abroad guidance; NHS Business Services Authority: S1; Medicare.gov: travel outside the US
- Care Concept: Care Expat World premium table and terms (read 27 Oct 2026)
Full source addresses, dates and confidence labels are kept in our country fact sheets. Rules change; confirm the current wording with the consulate or immigration office handling your case before you buy a policy.
Get the visa step right, then insure the years after it
Use travel or visa insurance where the application needs it, and start long-term cover on arrival. Start cover by 1 December of the year you turn 64.
Referral link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you (how we are paid).